PDA

View Full Version : horns



Savstyle
09-02-2005, 03:08 AM
ok so im loooking for horns ive wanted to try and install some for awhile. but i dont really know to much about them, or what companys make them. i knwo im nto givin much information of what i want but i pretty much know nothing. ive serched google but the results were kinda bland didnt get to in depth. so anyone with horn eperience please chime in and gimme some info ie: companies that make them, where to buy them. any opinion is welcome. thanks in advance

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 09:04 AM
companies that make them,

Image Dynamics (www.imagedynamicsusa.com ) - Probably the "most popular" HLCD company

USD Audio (www.usdaudio.com ) - Fairly expensive but great HLCD's

Crossfire (http://www.crossfirecaraudio.com ) - I don't know much about them, and not many people run them.

Illusion Audio (www.illusionaudio.com ) - Currently out of production, supposed to be in production by end of year as far as I know

Veritas - Not currently in production either as far as I know




where to buy them.

www.sounddomain.com - Only authorized internet dealer for Image Dynamics

Your local authorized dealer

For USD/Illusion, you can try directly from the company (not sure if USD does....but Illusion is supposed to be until they get a dealer network built back up)

Used on ebay/for sale forums


any opinion is welcome.

I have the Illusion CH1 horns and absolutely love them to death. Image Dynamics seems to be the most used that I know of because they are affordable and are great sounding. USD is sort of the "Cadillac" of horns. Expensive and not as many people run them. The Crossfire's I know nothing about.

Illusion and Veritas both use metal horn bodies....which can be a little trickier to work with than the others.

OnYrMrk
09-02-2005, 09:41 AM
Is Pro-Tech still around? I had planned on buying some of their horns about 10 years ago

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 10:05 AM
Don't believe so. There are still a few people using those HLCD's though....such as Joe Black, who competes in Meca.


Oh...and forgot to mention; Don't forget that you'll need some pretty stout midbass's in a good install to keep up with horns. Along with the ability to apply heavy EQ'ing to the horns.

mrray13
09-02-2005, 10:28 AM
not for sure if it will work, or be cheap,


but couldn't a person just build their own horns from partsexpress.com?




wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeee :peace:

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 10:32 AM
not for sure if it will work, or be cheap,


but couldn't a person just build their own horns from partsexpress.com?




wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeee :peace:


Compression drivers? Yes.

Horn Bodies? No.

Those horn bodies (lenses) that they sell at parts express will not work in a vehicle...unless you want to totally rebuild your entire dash/interior to make them stage/image correctly (most of the benefit of horns). There is a reason car audio horns are flared towards the middle of the vehicle ;) They are designed to direct most of their energy towards the opposite listener due to the narrow confines of a vehicle. Without this, they'd stage and image like crap..........

mrray13
09-02-2005, 10:41 AM
welp, that's why i didn't know if it would work..lol..


and there u have...the rest...of the story..



wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeee :peace:

req
09-02-2005, 11:14 AM
what if i made a mould of my horn body...


and then sold them (but they will be fiberglass)

mauahhahah!!!

... but you can buy new hornbodies directly from imagedynamics for like $100. just scoop some compression drivers from partsexpress and pop the id hornbody on there.

wouldnt that work?

well. i know my image dynamics comp2's sound awesome. i wish my crossover was still working. gotta ship it back to crossfire and get a new one :(

T3mpest
09-02-2005, 12:53 PM
yeah that would work, I would love to try some TAD compression drivers with a ID body, but darn 1200 bucks, ouch.

Savstyle
09-02-2005, 03:35 PM
Don't believe so. There are still a few people using those HLCD's though....such as Joe Black, who competes in Meca.


Oh...and forgot to mention; Don't forget that you'll need some pretty stout midbass's in a good install to keep up with horns. Along with the ability to apply heavy EQ'ing to the horns.
yeah thats seems to be the most spoken thing ive learned. but i plan on building this system up very slowly. and by very slowly i mean very slowly.since horns are so expensive, im guesssing the midbass would also be up there?
when you install horns is there any other place to mount them besides under the dash? or is that the only logical plae since there so big?

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 03:51 PM
yeah thats seems to be the most spoken thing ive learned. but i plan on building this system up very slowly. and by very slowly i mean very slowly.since horns are so expensive, im guesssing the midbass would also be up there?

Up there in price? Not necessarily. You can find some good mids (or subs that will function well as midbass) that will work with horns for ~$200/pr or less. Just depends on how extravagent you want to get.


when you install horns is there any other place to mount them besides under the dash? or is that the only logical plae since there so big?

Well, if you want to be like Mark Eldridge, you can mount them parallel to the windshield (where the windshield and top of the dash are "extensions" of the horn body).....but IIRC it took him a shitload of man-hours and ~6 months to a year to get it to work out right ;)

Other than that.....yes, under the dash is the only place. But the reasons are other than just it's size. Has to do with the dispersion pattern of the horn body, and the fact that you do not want to be on-axis with a horn.

Savstyle
09-02-2005, 03:52 PM
are these any good? i serched for the brand sqeak gave me and soundomain are the only one i found that had them.
http://www.cardomain.com/item/IDSCD1PRO
or is it worth saving more money for these?
http://www.cardomain.com/item/IDSCD2COMP
thanks in advance

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 03:54 PM
what if i made a mould of my horn body...


and then sold them (but they will be fiberglass)

mauahhahah!!!


Then you would be in violation of a few patent and intellectual property laws ;)


... but you can buy new hornbodies directly from imagedynamics for like $100. just scoop some compression drivers from partsexpress and pop the id hornbody on there.

wouldnt that work?

Yup. My Illusion compression drivers are just Radian 450PB's, which I think are around $130 each on PE. I believe the ID CD2 neo motors are based off of the B&C neo motors that you can find on PE.

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 03:55 PM
are these any good? i serched for the brand sqeak gave me and soundomain are the only one i found that had them.
http://www.cardomain.com/item/IDSCD1PRO
or is it worth saving more money for these?
http://www.cardomain.com/item/IDSCD2COMP
thanks in advance

Both of those are very good.

Do a search on ECA (www.elitecaraudio.com ) about the differences between the CD1Pro's and CD2 Comp's, as I can never remember :p:

IIRC, the CD1Pro's have better top end extension and the CD2Comp's have smoother, better sounding midrange. But don't quote me on that.

req
09-02-2005, 04:15 PM
i can attest to the smoothness of the comp2's

mine are so smooth, sounds nothing like a metal dome tweeter ive ever heard.

maybe ill email id and ask how much fullbody lenses cost direct from them....

Savstyle
09-02-2005, 04:16 PM
1 more question beforei goto work.can horns only fit in certain cars? or can u make them fit in any car:up2somet:

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 04:18 PM
1 more question beforei goto work.can horns only fit in certain cars? or can u make them fit in any car:up2somet:

With enough modification they can fit in anything ;)

But yeah....I would definitely measure first and check everything out under your dahs before you buy them. Some cars are extremely easy to fit them in....others are a total ***** and would require some intense work.

Also realize that with ID you can get two different horn bodies; Full size and minihorns. Minihorns are short and easier to fit in some vehicles...trade off being they can't play as low as the full size horns.

Savstyle
09-02-2005, 04:29 PM
With enough modification they can fit in anything ;)

But yeah....I would definitely measure first and check everything out under your dahs before you buy them. Some cars are extremely easy to fit them in....others are a total ***** and would require some intense work.

Also realize that with ID you can get two different horn bodies; Full size and minihorns. Minihorns are short and easier to fit in some vehicles...trade off being they can't play as low as the full size horns.
yeah that was my guess, what do think about making minihorns fit in a camaro?

squeak9798
09-02-2005, 04:38 PM
yeah that was my guess, what do think about making minihorns fit in a camaro?

Should work....even full bodies.

There is a guy on Team ID that has horns in a camaro, and Audiolife had horns in his Firebird.

Savstyle
09-03-2005, 01:40 AM
Should work....even full bodies.

There is a guy on Team ID that has horns in a camaro, and Audiolife had horns in his Firebird.
if they fit in a firebird they can fit in a camaro, thanks man.

msimon
09-03-2005, 01:56 AM
Not to hijack the thread or anything, but those of you with horns what eqs do you use? Do you use a unit that is a x-over and a eq all in one? I should be getting the ID cd1pros in a few weeks and I am looking for a suitable eq.

Savstyle
09-03-2005, 02:00 AM
Not to hijack the thread or anything, but those of you with horns what eqs do you use? Do you use a unit that is a x-over and a eq all in one? I should be getting the ID cd1pros in a few weeks and I am looking for a suitable eq.
i had the same question,

audiolife
09-03-2005, 02:41 AM
Not to hijack the thread or anything, but those of you with horns what eqs do you use? Do you use a unit that is a x-over and a eq all in one? I should be getting the ID cd1pros in a few weeks and I am looking for a suitable eq.
bare minimum would be an audio control eqx if you wanna do it justice get a dqx also audio control. there are others to but these work with all decks with rca outs. there are others that work with toslink outs but yoour deck would need a fiberoptic output and for the price diff if you dont have that i would just buy the ac

T3mpest
09-03-2005, 05:22 PM
by do it justice you mean not rip your head off right;)

req
09-03-2005, 08:42 PM
i use a pair of 31 band mono rackmount equalizers, crossfire CFQ31M is the model number.
and for the crossover, i have a 2way stereo 24db\octave rackmount crossover.

i really wish i had an audiocontrol DQXS though :(

accdealer
09-15-2005, 05:24 PM
anybody have details on the image dynamics compression driver mounting? i am assuming its is a 2 screw bolt on, but what diameter throat opening is it? 1"? 1 3/8"? also assuming b/c of the 2 screw holes on the horn that it is not a threaded openning.

also, when shopping for compression drivers on PE, what should one look for as far as freq resp, etc. alot of the drivers are listed with xover points, but they are 12db/oct, and obviously we would be doing 24 db/oct. assuming i wanted to xover at 600-800hz, what would i look at when chosing a compression driver?

audiolife
09-15-2005, 05:50 PM
horns mount up under body and horn flange. horns worth getting play 1200-20000hz some go as low as 480 however