PDA

View Full Version : I need quick answers please!!



danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 02:12 PM
I just recieved my 15" sub and was wondering how do i calculate the hole? i know that i need a jigsaw and a drill bit but the thing i want to know is how big do i have to cut the hole for my 15" in diameter???

and where do i position the hole? my box is ported so i was wondering do i need to measure the center right in the middle and measure it??


im going to pick up the jigsaw right now from my neighbor so i hopeee i can get some quick answers. THANKS ALOT!!



it says here " Mounting diameter: 14 3/32" /358mm"

is that the right one??? what kind of compass do i use???


thanks again!

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 02:50 PM
ok now i cant find a compass... what are my other options??

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 02:52 PM
Should be a "cut-out diameter" spec in the manual

What sub is it btw?

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:01 PM
this one?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03588.jpg

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:04 PM
All im seeing is a red x....What brand and model is it? OR google a picture and copy the html to here so I can copy that into my google and find a pic

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:05 PM
im so excited that it arrived today..

here yah go..


http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03589.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03591.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03590.jpg

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:05 PM
Still red X's..."(im at school so that could be a reason I dont see any pics)

host the pictures using imageshack.us

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:06 PM
All im seeing is a red x....What brand and model is it? OR google a picture and copy the html to here so I can copy that into my google and find a pic



sorry i think u gotta refresh or right click on the red x and refresh the pic..




Cerwin Vega VMAX-15DVC

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:07 PM
lol instead just click the link then if it doesnt work here:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03588.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03589.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03591.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/fat_boyz/Ported%20Box/DSC03590.jpg

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:08 PM
http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/specheaders/description.gif
15" Subwoofer

http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/specheaders/frequencyresponse.gif
20 - 500 Hz

http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/specheaders/powerhandling.gif
RMS: 400 watts
Peak: 1000 watts

http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/specheaders/impedance.gif
•SVC models 4ohms nominal
•DVC models 4ohms nominal coil

http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/specheaders/dimensions_bold.gif
http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/750.gif
http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/specheaders/mountingdiameter.gif
14-3/32" (358 mm)
http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/750.gif
http://cerwinvega.com/products/images/specheaders/depth.gif
7-1/8" (180.9 mm)

---------------------------

The 14-3/32" makes sense for it being the cut-out diameter needed :cool:

(btw my school blocked all "web based storage" so I cant see pics but I can when I get home)

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:09 PM
but the thing is i do not have a compass :(


and i have a cutout here that is a square and then a cutout circle in the inside.

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:11 PM
don't be excited....:uhoh:

just subtract about 5/8 of an inch from the diameter of the speaker: i.e. 12 inch speaker 11 3/8 inch hole. that should work

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:11 PM
You dont really need a compass to draw the circle....just use a measuring tape or something and measure off the 14-3/32" then cut away...

Do you have any pics of the box or are those pics up there that are blocked at my school of the box? ( I will be home in about 45mins so I can check the pics then)

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:14 PM
don't be excited....:uhoh:

just subtract about 5/8 of an inch from the diameter of the speaker: i.e. 12 inch speaker 11 3/8 inch hole. that should work


so for the mounting diameter of the 15" = 14 3/8"???

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:16 PM
no compass....

find the center of where you want to mount it. then drill a screw there. now measure out a length of string how ever big the hole needs to be.rap the string around the tip of a pen or pencil and swing it around acouple of times.

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:16 PM
cut-out diameter 14 3/32" to be exact (according to the manual) :up2somet:

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:17 PM
so for the mounting diameter of the 15" = 14 3/8"???

if not its pretty close.

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:18 PM
no compass....

find the center of where you want to mount it. then drill a screw there. now measure out a length of string how ever big the hole needs to be.rap the string around the tip of a pen or pencil and swing it around acouple of times.


ok now we are getting further and good now. i got that setup but all i need to know is how many inches do i exactly need the string length to be?? In the ruler i know where 14" is located at but there is nothing where is 3/32.

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:19 PM
what string are you talking about? You could make the cutout 14 1/8 ( 1/8= 4/32) and if thats too big then just file/sand it down til it fits...im pretty sure 1/32 wont make a difference but who knows?

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:20 PM
cut-out diameter 14 3/32" to be exact (according to the manual) :up2somet:


***** i didnt even see your post......scratch 14 3/8" cut it 14 3/32"

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:21 PM
***** i didnt even see your post......scratch 14 3/8" cut it 14 3/32"

http://cerwinvega.com/products/mobileaudio/v_max/vmax15.html

its all good mang

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:21 PM
what string are you talking about? You could make the cutout 14 1/8 ( 1/8= 4/32) and if thats too big then just file/sand it down til it fits...im pretty sure 1/32 wont make a difference but who knows?



the string tied to the screw to make the circle

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:22 PM
:blush: oo lol now I know what string he was talking about...

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:23 PM
what amp are you using to power that sub??

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:24 PM
***** i didnt even see your post......scratch 14 3/8" cut it 14 3/32"


so wat 14 1/8" is good?????


because in this stupid ruler i cannot calculate 3/32

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:25 PM
yeah thats fine

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:27 PM
what amp????

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:27 PM
what amp are you using to power that sub??



i will be buying a Cadence Z1200C from one of the members here for 100 bucks shipped. Will be wiring it to make it 500 w bridged. what do u guys think of it??


Thanks everyone for your input!!

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:28 PM
if thats too much what kind of amps would u guys recommend?

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:29 PM
sounds good. no problem with the help.

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:31 PM
yeah this is my first box im doing. and my sub will be in a ported enclosure i made a week ago. check it out


http://www.caraudio.com/vg/showimage.php?i=5653


5.15 cu ft @ 32 hz

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 03:35 PM
looks bad a$$. whats it going in??

danteBirosel
09-01-2005, 03:38 PM
1994 Nissan Pathfinder :)

negativezeroz
09-01-2005, 03:59 PM
Nice box especially for first timer. My first box...eh...it was a disgrace. lol Ironic cuz my first one held a Cerwin too.

Alpineinstaller
09-01-2005, 04:26 PM
my first one held one jensen ten.......yeah i know bash bash bash