PDA

View Full Version : CD-RB10, iPod, and Pioneer p860



DJ FADE
08-26-2005, 04:38 PM
i recently purchased this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5797991966&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1

i hooked it up to my pioneer deh-p860mp headunit and was excited to hook up my iPod as an aux input. however, once it got hooked up, i was very disappointed. the sound quality is not very good. for some reason, there were very few bass frequencies being transmitted, as my subs weren't even kicking. and if it got turned up louder than a certain piont (not very loud), the signal was distorted.

my question is - where do you think the problem lies? is it because i purchased a knock off cd-rb10 cable? or has somebody else experienced similar problems with the pioneer brand cd-rb10.

any help is appreciated. thanks.

iceteebone
08-26-2005, 04:44 PM
i usually have a little lack in sq with my aux. inputs. i generally have to turn it louder then on a cd, but i never get distortion.

DaFreakinRican0
08-26-2005, 05:46 PM
i use the CD-RB10 (pioneers real model) with my Ipod and its GREAT. all i have to do is max the volume on my ipod, then boost my aux level output 2 or 3. I think it is the cable you have. Yes i did pay 30 for mine, but it was worth it i guess.

juckstapose
08-26-2005, 05:57 PM
I have a very similar setup, except that I have the adapter that allows the changer as well and I am running a DEH-P6400 deck. I can say that SQ on an iPod isn't great anyway, but the dock connection is the best way to get SQ, rather than through the head phone jack. More practically, make sure that your settings are right. Check the EQ settings in your iPod and make sure that the volume on the iPod is around 80-90%. Also, how are your files encoded? If they are MP3's, then the SQ definately suffers anyway. Try encoding songs using the AAC format. (Don't re-encode files that are already uploaded, this will result in a loss of SQ.) It is a smaller file that yields a better sound quality. If you have the storage, go with Lossless encoding, it's around CD quality but takes up a lot of space. Also, I know my deck allows for an adjustment of internal volume depending on the source so that one may play louder or quieter than another. You could try that as well. I have heard of people getting bad results from sub-par cables, but I don't know much about that. And I am sure that you have already checked all of your connections. Hope this helps.

DJ FADE
08-26-2005, 08:08 PM
thanks to everyone for your replies. i will try to see if i can't tweak the settings a little bit to achieve better sound. if not, i'll try upgrading the cable, or perhaps trying the dock rather than the headphone output on the ipod. thanks everyone.

awsamia
08-26-2005, 10:01 PM
I have the same cable and the same problem with mine. If you find a solution please let me know.

Hybrid90accord
08-26-2005, 11:05 PM
i use the CD-RB10 (pioneers real model) with my Ipod and its GREAT. all i have to do is max the volume on my ipod, then boost my aux level output 2 or 3. I think it is the cable you have. Yes i did pay 30 for mine, but it was worth it i guess.

I did the same thing on my girls deh-p6700mp with her i-pod mini

awsamia
08-27-2005, 02:18 AM
How do you boost the aux level output?

DJ FADE
08-27-2005, 02:36 AM
awsamia - did you purchase the same cable from ebay? it sounds like we might've just assured that the problem lies in the cable....

95Prober
08-27-2005, 03:12 AM
How do you boost the aux level output? yeah, how can this be done?

awsamia
08-27-2005, 03:37 AM
Ya I bought the same exact cable off ebay. I also purchased the 1/8th to rca off ebay.

davidfre21
08-27-2005, 03:40 AM
my cable works beautifuly, no lack in SQ everything hits the way it should

DJ FADE
08-27-2005, 04:39 AM
davidfre - is yours the actual pioneer brand cable? or did you also purchase the knock off from ebay?

Hybrid90accord
08-27-2005, 05:50 AM
Also got to factor in that some MP3,WMA, WAC, ACC files are not the origional cd quality.

95Prober
08-27-2005, 12:43 PM
hey guys, dont know if anyone already saw this or how well it works, but here is a way to make a homemade IP-Bus cable for your MP3 :
http://www.gutterslide.com/ip-bus_hack/

anyone ever do this? and what were the results?? its worth a try even if it sounds bad. your not out anything

davidfre21
08-27-2005, 12:45 PM
mine is real, and i love it

95Prober
08-27-2005, 08:40 PM
hey guys, dont know if anyone already saw this or how well it works, but here is a way to make a homemade IP-Bus cable for your MP3 :
http://www.gutterslide.com/ip-bus_hack/

anyone ever do this? and what were the results?? its worth a try even if it sounds bad. your not out anything

well, this way is almost free and worth a shot if you have the time! people may love the real cable, but it costs around $30-40 U.S to get to my home shipped.

Phelptwan
08-27-2005, 10:22 PM
^Doesn't fit as site says and quality ***** once finished. I decided the FM transmitter was better quality than that...might have been the RCA i was using or something else...but you get the idea.

95Prober
08-29-2005, 04:33 PM
^^ oh really?? can anyone else confirm?