PDA

View Full Version : Can I keep my OEM unit?



mkell
08-25-2005, 08:14 PM
If I am going to run all the speakers and sub from sepaate amps, can I keep my OEM unit? I can't really replace it because the screen, audio controls, and climate are all combined into one console. Is this what the JL Audio Clean Sweep is for?

SSS 18734
08-25-2005, 08:15 PM
sure you can. all you need is a line out converter and know which wires to tap in to.

bonesninja
08-25-2005, 08:18 PM
not always that easy to do--especially on todays high tech equipt cars. what type of vehicle we talking?

mkell
08-25-2005, 08:23 PM
Lexus RX300. So I am guess it would be even more "technologized." haha

The installer who I would most likely work with could probably pull it off. I will have to talk with him though.

bonesninja
08-25-2005, 08:28 PM
alot of newer cars have smart connections to the nav,audio system so you can't readily change em out for aftermarket. the best thing to do is take your lex to a reputable dealer who specializes in late model conversions like you want. they will have the tools and parts to make it work for you.

Bake
08-25-2005, 10:47 PM
Your situation is exactly what the Clean Sweep was designed for.

Randy Savage
08-25-2005, 10:48 PM
Your situation is exactly what the Clean Sweep was designed for.

X2. I've heard that the CleanSweep is a great unit.

mkell
08-25-2005, 10:55 PM
Alright, I will check into that aswell.

Dj Perico
09-22-2005, 05:01 PM
I heard that unit was excellent. I'm getting it for my Trailblazer soon. How much di ya guys think that will cost?

Eugenics
09-22-2005, 05:55 PM
msrp is 400 (i think), not sure what instalation will cost