PDA

View Full Version : components do i hp or ap them?



SinongTatayMo
08-18-2005, 04:27 PM
hey guys i was setting up my components and on my amp it gives the choice or ap or hp? which do you suggest i put it too? and if highpassed what frequency should i use? thanks!

Bake
08-18-2005, 04:33 PM
I would say high passed , about 80ish -100 or so depending on what your speakers are capable of.

SinongTatayMo
08-18-2005, 04:53 PM
really why hp? and not ap?

squeak9798
08-18-2005, 05:09 PM
Because your speakers are not designed to reproduce subbass frequencies.

Highpassing them not only saves them from being mechanically damaged by subbass frequencies, but also should allow their midbass and lower midrange to play a little cleaner by alleviating them of trying to reproduce the subbass frequencies

SinongTatayMo
08-18-2005, 05:12 PM
sweet thx guys!

noob with an RS
08-18-2005, 05:12 PM
what is ap? all-pass?

SinongTatayMo
08-18-2005, 05:13 PM
yea all pass

JimJ
08-18-2005, 05:14 PM
Better known as "bypass" :)

Squeak gave you the answer you're looking for.

Bake
08-18-2005, 05:21 PM
Why send sub frequiencies to a speaker that is not designed to reproduce them? Robbing them of energry that could be used to reproduce midrange an increasing the odds that you will overdrive them.

Edit: what they said as I was disstracted from typing a response.

SinongTatayMo
08-18-2005, 10:26 PM
wow i changed my amp from ap to hp and **** it made the hugest difference..everything is so much clearer. the bass is where it needs to be and so is the highs..all i can say is thanks guys!