PDA

View Full Version : 4 channel amp with 6 speakers, how??



JaysonR
08-15-2005, 05:27 AM
Ok so I have a 4dr chevy blazer which has 6 pairs of speakers, 2 on the dash and 1 on each door. I wanted to add a 4 ch amp to my system because my HU is not putting out enough power to run my components on the doors (mids pop at about 2/3 volume).

My question is, how the heck do I run wires to the 2-ways on my dash? the doors are easy, just run the speaker wire through the rubber boot. But what about the dash speakers?

supa_c
08-15-2005, 05:28 AM
Here is an easy fix..only run 4 speakers !

Acidburn
08-15-2005, 05:29 AM
why run 4 when you only need 2?

cjjackson85
08-15-2005, 05:31 AM
Better yet, why run 2 when you only need 1 :confused:

JaysonR
08-15-2005, 05:35 AM
what the heck are you guys talking about? I like having 4 speakers thank you very much, 6 even better

supa_c
08-15-2005, 05:36 AM
More speakers= better ?
Uhh, no

PowerNaudio
08-15-2005, 05:48 AM
Ok so I have a 4dr chevy blazer which has 6 pairs of speakers, 2 on the dash and 1 on each door. I wanted to add a 4 ch amp to my system because my HU is not putting out enough power to run my components on the doors (mids pop at about 2/3 volume).

My question is, how the heck do I run wires to the 2-ways on my dash? the doors are easy, just run the speaker wire through the rubber boot. But what about the dash speakers?

if you mean where would you run the wire to the amp if the amp is like sitting in the back of the vehicle some where.
just run new wire following the door trim panels along the floor they should pop off and allow for new speaker wire to be ran along.

cjjackson85
08-15-2005, 05:50 AM
That's now what he's asking...

PowerNaudio
08-15-2005, 05:56 AM
That's now what he's asking...
what?
did you mean, that's not what he's asking?
what is he asking?

cjjackson85
08-15-2005, 05:58 AM
This...

Ok so I have a 4dr chevy blazer which has 6 pairs of speakers, 2 on the dash and 1 on each door. I wanted to add a 4 ch amp to my system because my HU is not putting out enough power to run my components on the doors (mids pop at about 2/3 volume).

My question is, how the heck do I run wires to the 2-ways on my dash? the doors are easy, just run the speaker wire through the rubber boot. But what about the dash speakers?

OlogyAudio
08-15-2005, 10:32 AM
You mean you have a tweeter and a midwoofer in the dash? and some coax or extended range sets in the doors? or is it a 3 way? --

tRiGgEr
08-15-2005, 10:37 AM
The front 2 speakers normally come as a set. So they should be wired together for a 4ohm load already. If not just hook up the front set @ 2ohms to the amp...

Or amp the front speakers and run the rear off the HU...

Bake
08-15-2005, 02:19 PM
I would run the front door speakers off of the front two channels . Then connect the dash and rear speakers to the rear channels in series. True this is not the most efficeint in terms of power, your front speakers will get more power than the dash and rear speakers. use the gains and fader to get the sound you like.

JaysonR
08-15-2005, 04:29 PM
sorry I meant coaxials cause I upgraded them already, but if anything, I was gonna amp the rear components since they are totally overpowered by the subs at this point