PDA

View Full Version : X-overs and power...

HeatSeeker
08-14-2005, 10:54 PM
Just wondering how is the final ohm load determined in a passive x-over system? Can drivers with different ohm rating be placed in the same x-over system? Also, how is the power distributed? Thanks for any help, I'm kinda new to home audio and trying to build a sound system for my pc (music, games, dvd's)

PV Audio
08-15-2005, 08:54 AM
depending on how you wire it ( you'll probably do parallel..much easier and simpler) you can bank on just averaging the impedances. however, there are impedance spikes so you will either want to utilize a strong impedance eq network or you can put in an l-pad. on my most recent project, i used an l-pad with 6 db of attenuation. i'd ask jim about it cause he helped explain it to me.

HeatSeeker
08-15-2005, 02:40 PM
I have no clue what a lot of that it. Time to get to some reading:)

thylantyr
08-15-2005, 04:45 PM
Just wondering how is the final ohm load determined in a passive x-over system?

If you use a 8 ohm (nominal) tweeter, midrange, woofer {etc} in a loudspeaker
design that uses passive crossovers, then as far as you are concerned
{or the amplifier}, the nominal impedance of your speaker can be considered
8 ohms nominal.

Can drivers with different ohm rating be placed in the same x-over system?

yes, but the frequency of the crossover point changes. To keep the same
crossover frequency you have to redo the calculation for your passive crossover
or accept the different frequency if you keep the same crossover parts.

Also, how is the power distributed?
Each driver will draw a certain amount of power, tweeters being least, woofers
being the most power hungry. The crossover can introduce some power loss
as it may be hungry too. /depends

Thanks for any help, I'm kinda new to home audio and trying to build a sound system for my pc (music, games, dvd's)

Generic response: Build some speakers already engineered, there are plenty of