PDA

View Full Version : 1994-1996 impala owners



chris96camaro
08-07-2005, 05:36 PM
My dad owns a '95 impalal ss and is looking for a new head unit. He has been told that most cd players will stick out of his dash a good bit. I was wondering what you impala guys run, or if anybody knows what size cd players will fit his car, and some examples maybe...

Nukedsodapop
08-07-2005, 06:07 PM
look at my thread I made, it has pics of my dad's 95

SSS 18734
08-07-2005, 06:07 PM
I believe Acidburn runs a Pioneer DEH-P3500 in his SS.

Although I think you can make any head unit fit... who told you it wouldnt?

chris96camaro
08-07-2005, 06:32 PM
he told me that crutchfield told him that most of them wont fit. How can any head unit be made to fit?

SSS 18734
08-07-2005, 06:38 PM
Does it not fit depth wise, or does the unit just not fit in the opening? pic of the dash?

chris96camaro
08-07-2005, 06:40 PM
Does it not fit depth wise, or does the unit just not fit in the opening? pic of the dash?

They told him it would not fit in depth wise, they said it would stick out about an inch..


http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/4158/dash1vu.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Thats the best pic he has of his dash...

SSS 18734
08-07-2005, 06:43 PM
They told him it would not fit in depth wise, they said it would stick out about an inch.. I'll see if he's got any dash pics..

hmm well then that would be beyond my abilities to help you out. Did you try an impala forum?

chris96camaro
08-07-2005, 06:51 PM
Yea he tried an impala forum but couldn't find anybody to help him, does anybody else know?

mattmcss
08-07-2005, 07:01 PM
i'm not sure how true that is , my buddy from school had a pioneer in his and it sat flush

Nukedsodapop
08-07-2005, 07:04 PM
oh I forgot my dad put his where the AC controls were

Justin89T
08-07-2005, 08:42 PM
typical of gm vehicles. generally nothing you can do about it, to my knowledge

Acidburn
08-08-2005, 02:54 AM
you can get the HU to sit flush (mine does)
there is a little plastic trim thingy back behind the stock HU, just dremel that out and you'll be able to get a standard DIN HU to fit, if there's a lot of wires back there, it can be tight but its totally doable
iirc, there is AC tubing behind that which you probably dont want to cut out
let me know if you have any more questions

azbass
08-08-2005, 02:58 AM
go Tom!