PDA

View Full Version : What are some Good 4" Speakers? And 3 Way Crossovers?



Starky
08-04-2005, 11:47 AM
I think im gonna some 4 inch speakers to my setup, to take some of the 300 watt burden off my Boston Acoustic 6.4's and to make it louder and sound better....does Boston acoustic make 4" speakers? if not, what are some pretty good ones? and Im going to need a new crossover for The 6.5's, 4's and tweets, what are some good passives I can get?

squeak9798
08-04-2005, 12:21 PM
I think im gonna some 4 inch speakers to my setup, to take some of the 300 watt burden off my Boston Acoustic 6.4's and to make it louder and sound better....does Boston acoustic make 4" speakers?

Not presently. Since you have the older BA components, you can look on ebay for the older 4" component sets.


if not, what are some pretty good ones?

Depends on your budget


and Im going to need a new crossover for The 6.5's, 4's and tweets, what are some good passives I can get?

None that will work. You're best hope would be to try to find the old BA Pro 6.53 crossovers.



But, how exactly did you plan on hooking this all up? Because, if you are going to hook the 3-way setup up to be 300w x 2, you aren't actually taking away any power. Each speaker could still receive the full 300w.

OlogyAudio
08-04-2005, 01:22 PM
None that will work. You're best hope would be to try to find the old BA Pro 6.53 crossovers.
Well he could send me all the drivers and have me take measurements and work through the options with him haha... Doubt thats in his price range though...

Starky
08-04-2005, 06:11 PM
Not presently. Since you have the older BA components, you can look on ebay for the older 4" component sets.



Depends on your budget



None that will work. You're best hope would be to try to find the old BA Pro 6.53 crossovers.



But, how exactly did you plan on hooking this all up? Because, if you are going to hook the 3-way setup up to be 300w x 2, you aren't actually taking away any power. Each speaker could still receive the full 300w.

Budget = 100-150

why wont any cross overs work??? Ive seen crossovers for 6's 4's and tweets before....

the_noob
08-04-2005, 07:13 PM
I've got some Rainbow Pro 4's that I might be selling soon. PM me if you are interested.

BNIB by the way, not the ones in my sig.

stupify
08-04-2005, 08:18 PM
check ebay for some pro 4" speakers. I see just the 4's for sale every now and then. Also just buy the pro 3 way crossover found on ebay also. The pro's are 3 ohm so not just any crossover can be used.

squeak9798
08-04-2005, 08:23 PM
The pro's are 3 ohm so not just any crossover can be used.

Bingo. You need to find a crossover design for your speakers impedance, and one that has the proper crossover points. That isn't something you can just pull off the shelf; it's going to be speaker specific.