PDA

View Full Version : tuning?



SSS 18734
07-31-2005, 10:46 PM
For those of you who have those fancy box-building programs...

what is the tuning of this box?

1.75 cu.ft including sub and port displacement
4" round port, 6.5" long.

ive been told by some that its as high as 45 hz... I didnt bother to check what the tuning was, i just went with pioneer stats for my 2000SPL's :uhoh:

soundstreamer
07-31-2005, 10:59 PM
45.3hz

SSS 18734
08-01-2005, 01:10 AM
**** that is really high... I wonder how much SQ I am losing by tuning that high. Do you guys think it would be worth the $40 or so to build a bigger, lower tuned box? It sounds pretty good to me right now but I havnt had a box tuned low, so I don't know how much I would gain from it.

SSS 18734
08-01-2005, 01:11 AM
or maybe just making the ports longer would do the trick? how long of a port would I need to achieve tuning to around 32hz?

SSS 18734
08-01-2005, 03:40 PM
bumpity bump

SSS 18734
08-01-2005, 10:15 PM
bumpity bump bump

kuijo
08-01-2005, 10:24 PM
http://www.maximacar.com/volume_calculator.htm

kuijo
08-01-2005, 10:26 PM
http://www.psp-inc.com/psp-inc.com/cgi-bin/port_length_calculator.cgi

kuijo
08-01-2005, 10:28 PM
1 4" aeroport will need to be 16" long to get to 32hz.

SSS 18734
08-01-2005, 10:32 PM
thanks kuijo.

According to that calculator, I would need a port almost 20" long to acieve a tuning of 32hz!

but with a box that small (1.75 cu.ft.), is it a good idea to extend the ports?

kuijo
08-01-2005, 10:44 PM
With what diameter port? The fewer the ports the less length you'll need and the smaller the port the less length you'll need, but don't go too small or you could get port noise.