View Full Version : Deh - 7600mp

07-30-2005, 06:35 PM
Does this headunit require the antennae be plugged in to power up? I'm shaving the antennae on a project car for the smoothed look and planned to swap this head unit in, but then this thought crossed my mind. Thought I should check before I put all my eggs in one basket.

07-30-2005, 06:42 PM
no, you dont need an antenna hooked up for it to work (atleast i didnt on my 3500), but dont expect to listen to the radio

07-30-2005, 06:44 PM
Ok, thank you. I won't be driving it that much, so I'm not worried about a radio. It's mostly a street/strip car, so all I need to listen to is the losers whining :laugh:

Stations in this area ****, anyway...

07-30-2005, 06:54 PM
if you want some reception, just stick a wire in the antenna socket and run it under the dash or up an A-pillar or something, it's kinda ghetto but it works
you wont get reception like a real antenna but you'll get some

07-30-2005, 07:00 PM
no, you don't need to have the antenna hooked. up. You could always take the antenna and mount it inside the car like above the headliner so you never see it. You can also get those thin film antennas too. Just some food for thought.