PDA

View Full Version : Fiberglass question



netherland24
07-27-2005, 01:28 AM
if i was gona make an fiberglass box for 2 12's R type's last year models could i port it? or does it have to be sealed? cause i want bang.

fo0manchu
07-27-2005, 01:40 AM
you can port it.

iamamp3pimp
07-27-2005, 10:44 PM
you just need to use smething pretty exact to get port length and size though

Woodmister
07-27-2005, 11:32 PM
Yea, porting a fiberglass box, while possible is very hard

You have to have the cubic feet down to the .05 at the most since a port relies on such an exact box size.

Im working on a sealed box right now, almost done, let me know if i can help...

flakko
07-28-2005, 12:11 AM
make the box, and fiberglass over it!! so it "LOOKS" like a fiberglass enclosure

you can also use water to measure the volume.

req
07-28-2005, 12:14 AM
just make a desired box\port size on paper. then shoot for a larger box than your paper\pencil enclosure.

backfill it with closed-cell foam blocks until the box volume (after displacements) is equal to your paper\pencil calculations.

its not too hard :p:

Woodmister
07-28-2005, 12:28 AM
Of course its not impossible and "that hard" but it is harder then just sealing the thing since you can be off and not make a big difference. But with some time and patience you can do it :)

DOHCrazy
07-28-2005, 12:33 PM
If you need any help since your local, let me know. Ive already made alot of stupid fiberglass mistakes to learn from.

ruckus
07-28-2005, 12:51 PM
Im making a ported fiberglass enclosure right now actually.

http://dillusionz.com/gallery/fiberglassbox

the center flat piece will hold 2 4" aeroports I already glassed it6 just havent taken pics yet. need to bondo and sand

djman37
07-28-2005, 12:58 PM
what car you puttin' this in??