PDA

View Full Version : Question About External Amp



Harrison486
07-26-2005, 08:04 PM
Hey guys! What's going on? I have a few questions concerning an external amp for my car speakers.

First, I guess I should tell you my setup. Right now, I have 4 Infinity Reference 6.5" co-axials all being run off of my Pioneer DEH-P3500 HU.

Now, my questions are:
1. I already have a power cable running from my battery to my trunk for my sub amp. How hard would it now be to install an amp for my 4 speakers? (I had my other amp and wires run by CC :rolleyes: )
2. What would the benefits of adding an external amp be? I mean, I know that my speakers are rated at 60 rms and my HU says 50 x 4 output (although im sure its less than that right?). So what would the difference be after I add an external amp?

Thanks!

Harrison486
07-27-2005, 11:52 AM
Anyone?

Harrison486
07-31-2005, 01:22 AM
ttt

JimJ
07-31-2005, 01:26 AM
What would the benefits of adding an external amp be? I mean, I know that my speakers are rated at 60 rms and my HU says 50 x 4 output (although im sure its less than that right?). So what would the difference be after I add an external amp?

I doubt your head unit does more than 18wpc before clipping. Adding an external amp will provide plenty of unclipped, clean power to your speakers. This vastly improves the dynamic range and allows you to crank up the volume without worrying about clipping and distortion on musical peaks...

JimJ
07-31-2005, 01:28 AM
I already have a power cable running from my battery to my trunk for my sub amp. How hard would it now be to install an amp for my 4 speakers?

Get a fused distribution block. Run the positive lead to that and split it to the amplifiers. Ground the new amp to a good chassis ground. Daisy-chain the remote lead from the sub amp to the new amp, and run a new set of interconnects from the head unit, obviously. You'd also need to run speaker wire throughout the vehicle to the speakers.

ntense702
07-31-2005, 01:32 AM
Get a fused distribution block. Run the positive lead to that and split it to the amplifiers. Ground the new amp to a good chassis ground. Daisy-chain the remote lead from the sub amp to the new amp, and run a new set of interconnects from the head unit, obviously. You'd also need to run speaker wire throughout the vehicle to the speakers.
that's about all there is to it

Harrison486
07-31-2005, 01:37 AM
I doubt your head unit does more than 18wpc before clipping. Adding an external amp will provide plenty of unclipped, clean power to your speakers. This vastly improves the dynamic range and allows you to crank up the volume without worrying about clipping and distortion on musical peaks...

Would I just be able to turn the volume on my HU louder, or would say volume # 30 on my HU now be louder due to mroe power?

JimJ
07-31-2005, 01:41 AM
Would I just be able to turn the volume on my HU louder, or would say volume # 30 on my HU now be louder due to mroe power?

The latter. You don't want to turn your head unit up too much, because then you start getting distortion from the head unit itself. Setting your amp to do maximum power at 75% of your head unit's range is generally a good rule of thumb...that means when you have the volume control turned to 75% of the maximum, the amp is at its full unclipped output.

Harrison486
07-31-2005, 12:12 PM
Alright...

So im interested in buying an amp now...

So should I look for a 4-channel or do I really only need a 2-channel for the front?

What type of wattage should I look for?

FOSGATE JOE
07-31-2005, 01:39 PM
im runing a 601s rf 2 channel amp 150watts rms heheheh to my highs front and back at first i was scard but it sounds so f-cking good just to let you know i'm runing it at 2ohm with gain 1/2 way

MrWizzard
08-01-2005, 12:00 AM
If you want to fade between the front and back speakers, you'll have to get a 4 channel amp, maybe 50x4 will be good even, since 50x4 on an external amp VS the 50x4 (peak) on the HU (wich is more like 18watts x4) will be a big diff.... it would be within rating of you're speakers too...

or... you could get a 2 channel and hook the speakers in paralell and run it at 2ohms, wich will save the need for the other two channels, but no fading control, hehe. so if you got a 2 channel amp rated at 50 watts each channel into 4ohms but ran 100 watts at 2ohms, then hooking two speakers per channel (front+back) will still give it 50 watts each, so all 4 speakers will still get the 50 watts....

i guess 2 channel would be cheaper too, at the expense of being able to fade or adjust the volume of the front & back seperate...

Bake
08-01-2005, 02:42 AM
If your sub amp has a set of RCA outs the you wouldnt have to run an rca from the head unit if you decide to go with the two channel amp.

Harrison486
08-01-2005, 05:10 PM
If you want to fade between the front and back speakers, you'll have to get a 4 channel amp, maybe 50x4 will be good even, since 50x4 on an external amp VS the 50x4 (peak) on the HU (wich is more like 18watts x4) will be a big diff.... it would be within rating of you're speakers too...

or... you could get a 2 channel and hook the speakers in paralell and run it at 2ohms, wich will save the need for the other two channels, but no fading control, hehe. so if you got a 2 channel amp rated at 50 watts each channel into 4ohms but ran 100 watts at 2ohms, then hooking two speakers per channel (front+back) will still give it 50 watts each, so all 4 speakers will still get the 50 watts....

i guess 2 channel would be cheaper too, at the expense of being able to fade or adjust the volume of the front & back seperate...

Could I really do that? If I dont ever fade my speakers would that be a better bet, or would a 4 channel still be better?

SSS 18734
08-01-2005, 05:14 PM
I would get a 50w x4 channel amp. You will see a big difference.

Harrison486
08-02-2005, 05:47 PM
Would something like this work? (http://www.crutchfield.com/S-atR6rfIJL48/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?i=158XM4060&search=XM4060GTX)

Obviously not buying from there, just showing its stats.

Any good?

Harrison486
08-02-2005, 08:32 PM
I can get that sony amp for $50....

Someone else offered a MTX 404 for $80 (35 rms x 4 @ 4 ohms at 12v)

What do you guys think?

Are either of those any good (im leaing towards the sony, mostly becasue of price)

Sony worth it or will it not be good?

SSS 18734
08-02-2005, 08:37 PM
If you just want to run the coaxials... I would get the sony and call it a day.

pwnt by pat
08-02-2005, 08:38 PM
sony = crap

you have a pm

Harrison486
08-02-2005, 08:40 PM
If you just want to run the coaxials... I would get the sony and call it a day.

What else would I want to do :uhoh: ? No im serious, what other options were you thinking?


sony = crap

you have a pm

Is sony really as bad as everyone says? That amp really will be ****? :crying: Anything you can reccomend to find cheap?

I have PM? ... I don't think I do, unless the site is lying to me..

------

I lied... I just got the PM notice now

jimmclrk1
08-02-2005, 09:34 PM
you got a pm

Harrison486
08-02-2005, 11:25 PM
:uhoh:

chinny
08-02-2005, 11:45 PM
Harrison hit me up in AIM at jd154g, i need ya to go over something with me :)

SSS 18734
08-03-2005, 03:16 AM
well I mean you can find better, but I think the sony will satisfy your needs, especially for only 60 bucks. Ill bet later on you could power a set of comps off that amp with no problems. Im using a 50 x 4 amp for my comps right now and it works well... oh wait, is that 65 PEAK watts x4?