PDA

View Full Version : ported 12w6v2's in my hatch



JLmatrix
07-25-2005, 08:01 PM
i have my 2 12w6v2's in a seal box in my hatch with a faux top/front panel, and i was wanting to build a new ported box for this set up to get some more boom from the subs. anyone have any suggestions for a box?

manufacturers reccomendations are 1.5ft^3 w/ 543in^3 of port for each sub...safe to go any bigger? ;)

if i built it to JLs specs, i would double the box volume, and would i also double the port volume if i was to use 2 subs?

ighettoboyi
07-25-2005, 11:45 PM
yes and no. find a port calculator (none of them calculate exactly the same)....3.0 ft^3 is all those subs want....just TRY and do 6.0 ft^3 and brace yourself for extreme disappointment

JLmatrix
07-25-2005, 11:52 PM
did you mean 3 cubes per sub, or 3 cubes for the pair?

i wouldnt try to do 6ft^3 either way (per sub, or combined) that would seem like death to the subwoofer to me ;)

ighettoboyi
07-25-2005, 11:54 PM
oh sorry i read that too fast. i thought you just wanted to double the recommended volume for no reason. 3 cubes NET (after sub and port displacement) for both. enjoy those thumps!

JLmatrix
07-26-2005, 12:03 AM
hah...i understand

thanks for the help man!

JLmatrix
07-26-2005, 12:36 AM
i assumed 35hz shouldnt be too bad, eh?

cjjackson85
07-26-2005, 12:39 AM
Why tune so high? Throwing much of the SQ out the window... :eyebrow:

JLmatrix
07-26-2005, 12:43 AM
well thats around what the JL sight is recommending for the port on their enclosure....althought it doesnt come right out and say it

JLmatrix
07-26-2005, 12:47 AM
let me correct that, 32hz