PDA

View Full Version : **please doublecheck**



Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 04:50 AM
The box EXTERIOR DIMENSIONS:

H: 17
W: 38
D: 19

Which gives you 5.7 cubes before displacement.

For your port its going to be:

15 inches high, 3 inches wide, 16 inches long which will tune your box to 32hz.



what is everyones opinion on this box for 2 12" '05 type r's? tuned ok for a daily driver? only have one question though.....if the box extior height is 17" and the port is only 15" wont that leave a gap?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 05:26 AM
anyone?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 05:47 AM
lol....that cant be good......is there something wrong with it?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 06:01 AM
hmmm....wtf.......i already started cutting to!.....would you happen to know the correct dimensions?and yes they are 1242d's....thanks for the help

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 06:10 AM
im almost done.....i have 1 cut left and it was part of the port...i got the dimensions from mr. loki, but i thought he knew what he was doing....ill just scrap that and start over......do you know what the correct dimensions would be? tuned to 34-35hz? thanks for all the help.

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 06:20 AM
sorry but i am completely clueless.....(n0ob sorry) so i would want 1.3ft^3 each chamber tuned to 36hz?? how would i figure out the dimensions? is it something you might be able to help me on?

kuijo
07-25-2005, 06:36 AM
http://www.accelerator-pedal.com/ported-box.asp

Jmac, do you not like tuning to the mid 30s?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 06:40 AM
http://www.accelerator-pedal.com/ported-box.asp

Jmac, do you not like tuning to the mid 30s?
thank you X elevinty billion

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 07:14 AM
so i came up with......

net volume: 3.5^ft3
tuning frequency: 35Hz
port width: 3.5"
port area: 54.25" squared
port length: 28"
external dimensions: 38" w x 17" h x 19.75 d

that look right?

kuijo
07-25-2005, 07:18 AM
Why did you use 3.5cf?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 07:21 AM
jmac said that my other dimensions were way too large for my subs

kuijo
07-25-2005, 07:26 AM
The manual recommends 1.3 ft^3 net per sub tuned to 36 Hz ...

http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/Manuals/500/500SWR1242.PDF

That enclosure is ~5 ft^3 net tuned to ~33.5 Hz (if you made the port 15.5" tall ... if you made the port 15" tall, I'd just start over) ... You can expect a large peak in the mid-30s and, most likely, poor transient response ...


he also said that.

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 07:45 AM
so i shouldnt make it a little bigger?....i was told to make it a little bigger for SPL, so i figured an extra .9ft^3 would be o.k......correct me if im wrong?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 07:51 AM
net volume is after displacement correct?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 08:14 AM
anyone?

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 08:32 AM
c'mon...someone's gotta know...

LBX2G
07-25-2005, 08:44 AM
yes it should be. audiobahn also has a port calculator double check it there. and yes .9ft^3 is a huge difference.

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 08:46 AM
ahh ok....thanks very much....huge difference good or huge difference bad?

Mr. Opportunist
07-25-2005, 11:05 AM
i have the same subs and i made mine 2.3cuft/ea instead of 1.3

kuijo
07-25-2005, 03:06 PM
I always thought the sq.in. of port made a big diffrence in spl

Bluntman420
07-25-2005, 11:14 PM
i have the same subs and i made mine 2.3cuft/ea instead of 1.3
how does it sound? have you been metered at all?