PDA

View Full Version : Active X-over set-up Q?



fossil99ca
07-21-2005, 04:20 PM
I have a active x-over coming in the mail soon, which has gains built into it. Where do I set the gains on my amp, if I will be using the gains on the X-over for control? Max or Min sensitivity?. Or should they both be equal (ie 2volt on the X-over and 2volt on the amp for example).

squeak9798
07-21-2005, 09:37 PM
Start reading from werewolf's post on page 6 to the end of the thread: http://forum.elitecaraudio.com/showthread.php?threadid=99205&pagenumber=6

fossil99ca
07-22-2005, 08:13 AM
Thanks Squeak for the read. I believe I get it.

In other words, set the gain on the x-over as high as possible and the gain on the amp as low as possible. This way only the signal noise of the x-over and HU is amplified and not the signal noise of all three, HU, x-over and amp are amplified.

Ideally you would want both gains at a minimum sensitivity so you are only amplifying the signal noise from the HU but in practice this would almost be impossible.

Gives me a place to start when doing setup. Start with both gains low and then start turning the gain on the x-over up until desired level.

Correct me if I am wrong.

squeak9798
07-22-2005, 12:16 PM
Nope. Sounds like you've got it.