PDA

View Full Version : xover



Proskier
07-20-2005, 06:15 PM
i understand the func of an xover but i have the pg xenon x6.5s and it says a 24db acoustic xover.....it has no xover dial like an amp.....i pulled it apart and i say the phase switch, the a-pillar switch, and the hp for the tweet which is either boost or flat....i probly want flat. but i see no xover dial...am i supposed to? can someone please explain?

albarran9
07-20-2005, 08:59 PM
Pics?

squeak9798
07-20-2005, 09:29 PM
Passive crossovers do not [typically] have variable crossover frequencies. That is one of the downsides of passive crossovers; their crossover frequency is fixed. So no, there is no dial to adjust the crossover frequency like you find on an amp. The crossover on your amp would be an active crossover, not a passive crossover like what came with your component set.


There are some passive crossovers that have selectable crossover frequencies; but those are more complicated and expensive to build/design; so they are typically only found on higher end components.

Proskier
07-21-2005, 12:15 AM
alright, i can live with that.

Mackenzie
07-21-2005, 01:21 PM
Can you not get them to sound right or something?

Proskier
07-21-2005, 10:14 PM
no, i was just wondering....i cant even get my amp to quit blowing fuses long enough to adjust any settings.

Mackenzie
07-21-2005, 10:55 PM
Recheck all your wiring. Do you have a fuse under the hood.