PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer HU problem



suprapimpa
07-15-2005, 12:47 PM
A couple months ago the battery in my brothers crown vic was reinstalled improperly and burnt out a couple things in the car, windshield, blinkers, etc. Along with this it hurt the radio but I don't know if its toast or repairable. It will turn on and all the buttons work but the radio will not come through the speakers and when I put in a cd it will spin really quick for a second and stop and nothing will happen. Is there any fix for this or is it done for?

I was thinking maybe it was just the internal amp, if I hooked up an external amp do you think it would work?

Thanks,
Shawn

Slaugh
07-15-2005, 01:10 PM
All i can say is WOW!, you got an Pioneer.
Its the best HU in existence you know, absolutely nothing better in that price range, nope.
Enjoy your awesome broken *** Pioneer.


































serious reply: yes, could be only the internal amps that fried... id check using an external amp... find someone who has one and do this test, dont go buyign without knowing whats causing the problem

mr Tibbs
07-16-2005, 03:11 PM
A couple months ago the battery in my brothers crown vic was reinstalled improperly and burnt out a couple things in the car, windshield, blinkers, etc. Along with this it hurt the radio but I don't know if its toast or repairable. It will turn on and all the buttons work but the radio will not come through the speakers and when I put in a cd it will spin really quick for a second and stop and nothing will happen. Is there any fix for this or is it done for?

I was thinking maybe it was just the internal amp, if I hooked up an external amp do you think it would work?

Thanks,
Shawn


Burnt out the windshield??? This I have to see!! Pics now please!!

suprapimpa
07-17-2005, 03:27 PM
Burnt out the windshield??? This I have to see!! Pics now please!!
windshield wipers, my bad

zachzchw
07-17-2005, 04:14 PM
Wont be the internal amp if the cd doesnt even play.
Contact Pioneer, they will do a one time courtesy fix on it, if its a current model.
Who the hell put his battery in wrong, anyway?

94CamryBumpin
07-17-2005, 04:18 PM
is there a way to put a battery in wrong? i mean there is a positive and negative terminal...u connect the corresponding batt terminals to the corresponding terminals on the battery and voila a new battery installed?

seth350
07-17-2005, 06:24 PM
Pioneers are notorious for blowing their internal amps for some reason.
At least all the ones Ive seen anyways......

Hopefully my AVH-6400CD wont do it :P

zachzchw
07-17-2005, 07:28 PM
Pioneers are notorious for blowing their internal amps for some reason.
At least all the ones Ive seen anyways......

Hopefully my AVH-6400CD wont do it :P


Never heard of them blowing the internal amps......The problem that occurs is something in the ground trace in the deck, and causes noise to come from the rcas hooked to your amps.
Doesnt sound like thats what his problem is.