PDA

View Full Version : Hooking subs up to stereo.



ChiefontheDitty
07-15-2005, 12:01 AM
I was wondering if I could hook a sub up to my stereo. I have the stereo hooked up to the tv in my room for sound on my games. If I can hook it up would I be able to use a 15 and how big an amp? Thanks, Chief

ChiefontheDitty
07-15-2005, 12:24 AM
The reason I want to do this is because I have a 3.75 cubic foot box for a 15 that doesnt fit in my trunk and I would still like to use it.

boister77
07-15-2005, 12:30 AM
you can hook up the sub to your system. your best bet would be to get a plate amp.

http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&SO=2&DID=7&CATID=25&ObjectGroup_ID=505

with most plate amps, you can use either speaker or line level inptus. in your case, if your system has a audio/tape out i would use those are the outputs to the plate amp. if your system doesn't have either, you can wire the speaker outputs to in speaker level inputs of the plate amp then back to your speakers.

creater
07-15-2005, 12:33 AM
of course...throw that up right there...yea get an amp from PE...you wont spend much and would get the value for it...

ChiefontheDitty
07-15-2005, 12:52 AM
Which amp would you guys get and what 15. I am not familiar with this area of stuff so I dont know how much power subs need inside.

PV Audio
07-15-2005, 12:55 AM
just look at PE or Madisound's 15" sub drivers and pick one with a qts that can complement the box that u have. i am running a 6 cuft dayton TT MK III 15" off PE's 1000 watt plate amp...it...well... just watch

http://www.woofervids.com/displayimage.php?album=161&pos=0

creater
07-15-2005, 01:01 AM
remember this thing is in your house...so dont be sending it anything over 500w rms...

get a good small amp...like about a flat 500w max amp...or something higher if you like...but dont be pushing 1000w+ in your house...

ChiefontheDitty
07-15-2005, 01:16 AM
not to sound cheap but what about one of the 250 watt amps. Can I use a car sub? And what cheap sub would you recommend. Nothing fancy just for video games.

JimJ
07-15-2005, 01:20 AM
but dont be pushing 1000w+ in your house...

Might I ask why not?

I know of plenty of people running Behringer and QSC rack amps, doing upwards of 2.5kW...if you have the drivers to go with it, there's absolutely nothing wrong with that kind of wattage.

PV Audio
07-15-2005, 01:29 AM
remember this thing is in your house...so dont be sending it anything over 500w rms...

get a good small amp...like about a flat 500w max amp...or something higher if you like...but dont be pushing 1000w+ in your house...
...look at post above yours

ChiefontheDitty
07-15-2005, 01:32 AM
what is a good 15 for 250 watts rms? Oh and for under 75 dollars.

JimJ
07-15-2005, 01:35 AM
Used eD 15K?

I've seen them on Ebay before for really good prices.

creater
07-15-2005, 02:10 PM
i understand people using QSC and Crowns...but that much power in your house...i use 2 BK 12" powered by 500w...and all the windows are shaking...

i'm not saying that you just can't...i'm saying you shouldnt...

PV Audio
07-15-2005, 11:38 PM
what is a good 15 for 250 watts rms? Oh and for under 75 dollars.
dayton quatro series?

www.partsexpress.com

search dayton, and if u want to save...be like me and get the 15" titantic WITH 1000 WATTS IN YOUR HOUSE :up2somet:

jujumantb
07-16-2005, 12:28 AM
Everyone should be like lemans !

Put your hand in burning coals ...
Run your 4 ohm sub off your home receiver until it dies ...
Burn yourself with a soldering iron ...
Tell people 1/4 mile time is at least double the 1/8 mile time ...
Make a video of your sub and have a black guy pose as you ...
:cool: lmao

PhatTonyDeMarco
07-16-2005, 12:29 AM
Lemans, did your hair grow back yet? Or did you shave it again?

creater
07-16-2005, 01:11 AM
hahaha...why did he shave his head???

vettelovr1124
07-18-2005, 04:54 PM
Used eD 15K?

I've seen them on Ebay before for really good prices.
Ahh yeahhhhhhh. Old school eD = good.

I'll be using mine for home audio when I get out of college...or perhaps during if I feel like making people mad.:)

JimJ
07-18-2005, 05:05 PM
Dooooooo it...I actually might be selling my 15" soon, I simply can't justify that in an apartment. So if you want a 2.5cF nicely finished sealed box and TC9-based 15", I've got 'em :)

vettelovr1124
07-18-2005, 05:13 PM
Dooooooo it...I actually might be selling my 15" soon, I simply can't justify that in an apartment. So if you want a 2.5cF nicely finished sealed box and TC9-based 15", I've got 'em :)
Hmm...a 15" in a dorm room...sounds fun.:)

PV Audio
07-18-2005, 05:16 PM
Lemans, did your hair grow back yet? Or did you shave it again?
yeah look in the bookshelf speaker thread..my boss said that he wouldn't have people running around patronizing antisemitics :uhoh:

PV Audio
07-18-2005, 05:20 PM
Everyone should be like lemans !

Put your hand in burning coals ...
Run your 4 ohm sub off your home receiver until it dies ...
Burn yourself with a soldering iron ...
Tell people 1/4 mile time is at least double the 1/8 mile time ...
Make a video of your sub and have a black guy pose as you ...
1. they weren't burning, they were covered in ash :D
2. it isn't dead..i'm using it for my xbox for your information :furious:
3. that's pretty common, the flux just got onto my finger ;)
4. that was retarded :laugh:
5. that black guy was pimp wasn't he?

vasilios
07-18-2005, 05:25 PM
the fs of a tumult is in the teens...it would make an excellent home-theater sub, no?

JimJ
07-18-2005, 05:28 PM
The Tumult is an excellent HT driver.

vasilios
07-18-2005, 05:30 PM
thats what i thought..

vettelovr1124
07-18-2005, 08:44 PM
Yeah, wasn't the Tumult made specifically for ht?

JimJ
07-18-2005, 08:53 PM
Yes.

vettelovr1124
07-18-2005, 09:04 PM
Thought so...I just couldn't remember.

ChiefontheDitty
07-18-2005, 09:32 PM
How much do Tumult's run for?

vettelovr1124
07-18-2005, 09:44 PM
How much do Tumult's run for?
Not sure, but I think around $400 for a 15". Dan at Adire would know for sure.:)

ChiefontheDitty
07-18-2005, 11:12 PM
Yeah ok not what I am looking for then. Maybe 40 not 400. Really dont know why I want to do this I guess it will make GT4 a little more exciting.

HincklNutt
07-19-2005, 05:43 AM
find a used atlas 15

Decado
07-20-2005, 05:20 AM
Do i need a crossover to make a home sub box like this? Or just the box, the driver, and the plate amp?

PV Audio
07-20-2005, 08:54 AM
Do i need a crossover to make a home sub box like this? Or just the box, the driver, and the plate amp?
it depends on how you will be running it. will you be running the speakers through it and then throguh teh amp (aka high level) or will you just hook it up to the LFE or sub out jack on the amp? the first requires one, the second does not.

Decado
07-20-2005, 10:35 PM
Ok, i will just be hooking up through the sub out, thx.