PDA

View Full Version : adjustable port



jellyfish420
07-13-2005, 01:27 AM
i'm getting ready to redo the box. i'm gonna have a huge port for when i go to comps and i wanted to make some kinda plug for it for daily. i think i read somewhere that all you have to do is have some kinda "plate" to cover some of the port, making the cross sectional area smaller, lowering tuning. but i was thinking doesn't this reduced size have to stay consistant through-out the entire length of the port? if the port just came up and hit this it would cause some turbulance and possibly some port noise, correct?

PhatTonyDeMarco
07-13-2005, 01:29 AM
With that kind of plug, you should deffinitly get port noise. They sell plug ports, I dont remember where I saw it, but they do make them. You could always just have a small piece of MDF or something with some wingnuts that covers that port.

TrlcKed_OuT
07-13-2005, 01:31 AM
heres an idea im gunna try...im using a square port that can be takin out and have a different length one put in the same spot....if u got questions i can explain better but i am going to test it and therfor i have no experience wheter or not it shall work...

req
07-13-2005, 01:34 AM
what id do

is build the box like regular with the SPL port in, then put in some metal tapped bolt holes that you drill into the wood ( kinda like an inverted T nut ) and build another port that is on a plate that you can put inside the bigger port. not sure how well it would work, but it should work.

jellyfish420
07-13-2005, 01:35 AM
heres an idea im gunna try...im using a square port that can be takin out and have a different length one put in the same spot....if u got questions i can explain better but i am going to test it and therfor i have no experience wheter or not it shall work...
i've seen what your talking about. it worked out quite nicely. as for me changing ports like that is gonna be impossible. i believe i'm gonna build another box like the one i have now, except a few little tweeks :up2somet:

jellyfish420
07-13-2005, 01:47 AM
what id do

is build the box like regular with the SPL port in, then put in some metal tapped bolt holes that you drill into the wood ( kinda like an inverted T nut ) and build another port that is on a plate that you can put inside the bigger port. not sure how well it would work, but it should work.

you seen the box i have now...the half wall. i think its gonna go something like this

get rid of that little lip on the bottom so i can drop the subs down lower. w/ the subs lower i will be able to fit a bigger port in. i'm gonna double up one the baffle this time;) **** broken braces! i was thinking of doing what you just said, but i don't know if it'll work that easy :( the port is angled up...so i don't think i'll be able to slide a port, inside the port due to the ceiling being in the way :( see what i'm saying...

TrlcKed_OuT
07-13-2005, 01:49 AM
i've seen what your talking about. it worked out quite nicely. as for me changing ports like that is gonna be impossible. i believe i'm gonna build another box like the one i have now, except a few little tweeks :up2somet:

well thats good to hear its works...but if u cant build it lik that just try to come up with something to plug it a little bit....im not really sure what i would do seems alot harder then my way but if ya cant do it just keepin thinkin of ideas....im sure the loudest ppl in the world just started thinkin **** up......

req
07-13-2005, 01:59 AM
how about just plugging it-

just go sealed when not at comps :uhoh:

jellyfish420
07-13-2005, 02:07 AM
how about just plugging it-

just go sealed when not at comps :uhoh:
i haven't sat down to figure any numbers yet...but rough guessing i'm gonna say 5.5ft ported ~140in^2 port @ ~46Hz (for comp) and that would put me about 7.5-8ft sealed....you don't think that would be kinda big???