PDA

View Full Version : drill a hole or run the wire thru the port?



95Prober
07-06-2005, 01:18 PM
what do most of u guys do when u have a slotted port design?, this is anyone who doesnt use terminal cups. do most of u rune the wire thru the port? i have seen many pics of this done. OR drill a small hole just big enough for the wire then silicone or whatever around it ??

JimJ
07-06-2005, 01:20 PM
One of these days, I'll understand the aversion to using terminal cups...

until that day, I'll keep using them...

its_bacon12
07-06-2005, 01:20 PM
port....

i do it, dont bother with terminals anymore when i do ported.. makes life just that little bit easier

Black_Jesus
07-06-2005, 01:39 PM
port....

i do it, dont bother with terminals anymore when i do ported.. makes life just that little bit easierugly tho

95Prober
07-06-2005, 03:43 PM
One of these days, I'll understand the aversion to using terminal cups...

until that day, I'll keep using them...

well a few reasons i dont wanna use them:

extra cash- although NOt much

im lazy to cut holes out

and also, mine always seem to rattle. although that probably could be fixed. but like i said, im lazy. i'd rather focus more detail to the more important areas

95Prober
07-06-2005, 03:44 PM
ugly tho

i thought that as well. do they make BLACK speaker wire. that would be a good idea to blend in with the port paint :)

ruckus
07-06-2005, 09:31 PM
I drill a hole the size of my speaker cable (10ga) and run it through, its tight and I use silicone on the inside just to make sure it is sealed nice

SSS 18734
07-06-2005, 09:35 PM
just buy terminal cups you lazy ***!

JimJ
07-06-2005, 09:47 PM
and also, mine always seem to rattle. although that probably could be fixed.

Yeah, by properly installing them...pre-drill the holes, and use the same screws you used for mounting the subwoofer. I've never had a terminal cup come loose yet.

bigred78797
07-06-2005, 09:52 PM
I don't use em, I just do like ruck and just drill holes and silicone it shut. I end up drilling holes and using silicone anyway when using terminal cups so why not just save the extra money... no matter how little it is.

iceteebone
07-06-2005, 09:52 PM
any of the above mentioned ideas work so do whatever your little kidney desires and call it a day.

GreenMachine70
07-07-2005, 06:30 AM
I say grab your drill and go to town

psycho72
07-07-2005, 01:42 PM
I think the cups look more professional and clean thats why I use em.

djman37
07-07-2005, 02:37 PM
I used to use terminal cups too. Now i do this

http://img106.echo.cx/img106/2751/electrical5js.th.jpg (http://img106.echo.cx/my.php?image=electrical5js.jpg)

SSS 18734
07-07-2005, 02:43 PM
^^^ Nice

bcarpenterfhl
07-07-2005, 03:15 PM
I used to use terminal cups too. Now i do this

http://img106.echo.cx/img106/2751/electrical5js.th.jpg (http://img106.echo.cx/my.php?image=electrical5js.jpg)

where can i get those?

SSS 18734
07-07-2005, 03:51 PM
^ x2

bcarpenterfhl
07-07-2005, 04:00 PM
i'd really like to see some more pics of your work dj man. i admire the paint and routing job on there

djman37
07-07-2005, 04:27 PM
thx, I don't warrant any attention though.

The wire holders are for home electrical, in the electrical supply section of Home Depot. Lowe's doesn't carry them. I'm sure an electrical supply place does too. They are for the grounding strip inside breaker boxes. 1/4 bolts fit great. there is the same thing on the outside for accepting the wires from the amp. My new box has one set for each VC, to allow for wiring changes on the fly.

My work?? I'm no good. What you see is high density weather stripping stuff. The box I built requires you to screw on the lid to be able to get to the drivers, that stuff is used to seal it all. The gray area is actually my garage floor.

I will post pics soon of the new box. Nothing special, separate chamber 1.8^ each tuned to 30hz, all internal corners rounded, interior painted with wood hardener, exterior 'painted' with titebond, not a screw in it.

I use an app called itemizer 7.0 to make cutlists and have all pieces milled and ready to go when I show up. I get a sheet of good 3/4 mdf and milling done for about $50 total. I have a circular saw w/MDF blade, palm router w/quarter round and rabbett(sp) bits, decent jigsaw, a palm sander, and a rotozip w/circle cutter as my arsenal. I let the professionals cut/mill my cuts to ensure square and straightness.

bcarpenterfhl
07-07-2005, 05:18 PM
arent we modest.

PhatTonyDeMarco
07-07-2005, 05:22 PM
Through the port.. Not that big of a deal, and if you do it properly (run the wires along the joint in the bottom of the port and then around the side of the box tightly wrapped) it shouldnt look that bad. You can hardly notice it...

djman37
07-07-2005, 06:02 PM
arent we modest.

i'm having 'one of those days' here at work, sorry.

ruckus
07-08-2005, 03:23 PM
just buy terminal cups you lazy ***!

not about lazy or cheap I just dont like how they look. I prefer this

http://dillusionz.com/gallery/albums/box/16_G.sized.jpg

closeup here http://dillusionz.com/gallery/albums/box/16_G.jpg

djman37
07-08-2005, 05:26 PM
I like it too. I just don't like the amp attached to the box. It's just personal preference. Very clean look.
Rukus, where can I get some of those grilles?

bigwheel15
07-08-2005, 05:37 PM
I like it too. I just don't like the amp attached to the box. It's just personal preference. Very clean look.
Rukus, where can I get some of those grilles?

You can get those grills at partsexpress. http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?DID=7&WebPage_ID=3&Start=2&CAT_ID=48&ObjectGroup_ID=141&sm=1&so=2&search_type=90183081&desc=ASC

djman37
07-08-2005, 05:40 PM
cool. just ordered mine.

DFW40
07-09-2005, 01:05 AM
Get the terminal cups from partsexpress, then use bondo body filler on the cups and you never need to even use screws. Wires thru the port is easy but why not just finish it up and have an easier way to disconnect the box etc. Plus thick wires in the port can also cause port noise, but really it just looks better. IMO

BassAddictJ
07-09-2005, 02:35 PM
i just cut small holes.....