PDA

View Full Version : Variable port



TeValere
07-05-2005, 09:37 PM
Has anyone here toyed with the idea of a port that can be adjust either manualy or automatic to help tune to more types of music?

cjjackson85
07-05-2005, 09:38 PM
No.

ss3079
07-05-2005, 09:39 PM
Port plugs + swapping out different lengths and diameters of PVC have been done before. Port plugs are great if you have the right application for it.

TeValere
07-05-2005, 09:47 PM
I have an idea that adds a few fairly comlicated peices but i think it could be done by making a sort of hydraulic or megnetic or even spring loaded port opening that you could tune or would tune itself due to pressure and or power? would love more ideas or thoughts, im more of an engineer so im not expecting it to be practical but now im stuck on the idea.

Raven
07-05-2005, 09:49 PM
Well since the port would have to move at a frequency close to the same as the speaker, only a lot farther and be very linear doing it, if there was a motor for the job it's been turned into a subwoofer itself by now.

bcarpenterfhl
07-05-2005, 09:53 PM
you may have a lot of problems with parts vibrating with this motor/hydraulic idea you have, and that wouldnt be good. the easiest way to change the frequency of your box would be to use aeroports, which mount from the front. so just buy a couple aeroports from partsexpress.com and cut them different lengths to achieve your desired tuning frequencies, and just swap them when you feel like it.

JimJ
07-05-2005, 09:54 PM
No.

Thanks for providing incorrect information...

:uhoh:

DBfan187
07-05-2005, 09:58 PM
Thanks for providing incorrect information...

:uhoh:Maybe he's correct, in not 'toying' with varible ports;)

cjjackson85
07-05-2005, 09:59 PM
Maybe he's correct, in not 'toying' with varible ports;)
:yes: Since I haven't...

TeValere
07-05-2005, 10:10 PM
aeroports will have to look into them. im going to run with an idea i have if and when i get the time i will update on progress, i know theres a way i can do it