PDA

View Full Version : Stereo RCA's blown?



sentra95
07-05-2005, 03:33 PM
Yesterday I installed a my uncles amp a Bazooka El1500 in his Honda. When I turned it off (and on) the subs make this popping sound. I then reinstalled a kenwwood amp in his car and it made the same popping sound. So then I connected the Kenwood amp RCA's diffrently, by running it from the back speaker wires(the bazzoka amp doesnt have these feature) and it stopped making the popping sound. What could it be?

JimJ
07-05-2005, 03:35 PM
Loose ground connection? Make sure all terminals are solidly soldered and there's a tight connection between the RCA jack and the plug.

sentra95
07-05-2005, 03:38 PM
Nope no loose ground connections, everything is connected right.

stones
07-05-2005, 03:42 PM
If the ground is good then the remote on lead is the next in line to look at, when you hooked the kenwood up to the speakerleads you curcumvented the remote on line.
A delay circuit on the remote on lead or a new HU will fix the problem.

sentra95
07-05-2005, 03:48 PM
a new HU will fix the problem.
Thats what I was thinking. :)

LBX2G
07-05-2005, 03:58 PM
it is called a turn on pop. all avg. aftermarket amps do this. There is thing they sell to elimenate that.

sentra95
07-05-2005, 04:28 PM
I can assure you its not the amp.

LBX2G
07-06-2005, 04:33 AM
yes it is the amp. if u take the amp out of the equation then it will go away.

sentra95
07-07-2005, 03:04 AM
The amp Bazooka amp I installed in his car was mine i sold it to him. When I had it, it did not make the popping sound from the subs.

Today I went to my uncles house I reinstalled it in my car and the popping sound was gone. So how do you explain this???

maylar
07-08-2005, 02:28 PM
There's probably a ground loop between the HU and amp. Connecting RCA's connects the amp and HU grounds together. Engine whine, pop, etc are usual symptoms. Using speaker level inputs eliminates the inter-ground connection. Proper solution would no doubt have revolved around regrounding HU and/or amp.

LBX2G
07-08-2005, 04:33 PM
it is a ground problem. RCA wire hardly, if ever blows.