PDA

View Full Version : new box in process



saywhat?
06-16-2005, 05:17 PM
http://img270.echo.cx/img270/8721/dscn02918az.jpg

http://img270.echo.cx/img270/1593/dscn02939nn.jpg

http://img270.echo.cx/img270/3571/dscn02949ac.jpg

http://img270.echo.cx/img270/783/dscn02967kc.jpg

http://img270.echo.cx/img270/9320/dscn02955tf.jpg

http://img270.echo.cx/img270/7452/dscn02923dw.jpg




the last pics are to show how my edges match up.....i love table saws.

tRiGgEr
06-16-2005, 05:20 PM
Clamps<my hands:laugh:

Looks good so far.

bcarpenterfhl
06-16-2005, 05:46 PM
nice man. those clamps look bad ***. you're gonna need minimal screws on that beast. probably just one or two in the middle of each side where the clamps are putting as much pressure. nice job man.

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 07:41 PM
the clamps arent eally pulling the boards together, more like hold the boards at a right angle. i plan on about 5 or 6 on short sides, 11-12 on the length, because i want it to be VERY solid. i will probably uy a length of PVC as well and figure a way to hold it securely to the side and pour resin between the box, and the pvc to round out the vertical corners.

94CamryBumpin
06-16-2005, 07:43 PM
where did u get those clamps at...could be useful for my oncoming box project...

2kchevy06civic
06-16-2005, 07:43 PM
nice

tommyk90
06-16-2005, 07:46 PM
90* angle clamps=teh win. I have a set of em too. :)

They are a life saver when building a box by yourself.

I picked mine up at Home Depot. :fyi:

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 07:46 PM
they are 8 bucks at lowes, home depot has some stainless, and i think they are a tad but bigger and run the same. these are awsome though.

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 07:49 PM
the box will be covered in a solid black formica i believe its called, the plastic layer stuff thats been used lately, and the external port will be red. would it be safe to put the formica in the port itself to smooth the surface out? or should i just sand with some 400???

chinny
06-16-2005, 07:49 PM
keep us updated mang

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 07:50 PM
keep us updated mang


i will deffinately, ........if it fits! lololol i dont know if it will or not, im prayin on this one!

if not it will be up for sale at a reasonable price, .....also....it may go on ebay.

bcarpenterfhl
06-16-2005, 07:54 PM
400 is a little too high to start with IMO. I'd start with 200 or 220, then jump to 400. just my $0.02. and dont over do it with the nails. are you waiting for the glue to dry, the putting screws in? if so, that kinda defeats the purpose. the screws serve more for keeping the box together nice and tight while the glue dries.

i'm curious to see this external port you keep mentioning. i dont quite have a picture of it yet. do you have a drawing or something you can post to give visual?

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 08:05 PM
http://img101.echo.cx/img101/804/box2dp.jpg

http://img293.echo.cx/img293/1959/box29hl.jpg


sorry for the "decent" sized pic...oh and the port needs one inch cut off it, but ill do that when i cut the wood for it.

cjjackson85
06-16-2005, 08:07 PM
Black formica is awesome...

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 08:22 PM
i think it would look real good

bcarpenterfhl
06-16-2005, 08:24 PM
so are the screws in or not? if not, hurry up before the glue dries.....

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 08:27 PM
no, screws are not in, i may just shoot some nails through..

bcarpenterfhl
06-16-2005, 08:28 PM
well, like i said, screws, nails, staples, whatever, are meant to serve as a clamp...

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 08:30 PM
im not convinced yet that just glue will hold it lol, but who kn ows, ill check it in the morning.

bcarpenterfhl
06-16-2005, 08:32 PM
well if the glue isnt clamped sufficiently with screws, then no, it wont hold it. any box builder here will tell you the glue is what really keeps the box together,

creater
06-16-2005, 08:34 PM
that looks sweet dude...thumbs up

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 08:39 PM
well if the glue isnt clamped sufficiently with screws, then no, it wont hold it. any box builder here will tell you the glue is what really keeps the box together,


then in that respect ill shoot some screws through it just to be safe.

bcarpenterfhl
06-16-2005, 08:40 PM
then in that respect ill shoot some screws through it just to be safe.

good decision, is it dry or no?

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 08:42 PM
yes it is....but if i shoot some screws through still, the screws will still act as a support. the threads will hold in the wood for extra support with the wood.

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 09:10 PM
anyone?

bcarpenterfhl
06-16-2005, 09:58 PM
your asking? MDF sands really easily. because of this characteristics, screws dont hold extremely well by themselves. like i've said, they just serve as a clamp for the glue.

saywhat?
06-16-2005, 10:02 PM
your asking? MDF sands really easily. because of this characteristics, screws dont hold extremely well by themselves. like i've said, they just serve as a clamp for the glue.


the glue SHOULD hold, the nails would just be a mental thing for me. any more opinions on how u think my box is comin along? its no like it was sideways when it was securing, the boards were exactly how the pics were taken, so maybe the gravitational force is close to enough. i made sure they were pushed together pretty well before i clamped them.

PowerNaudio
06-17-2005, 08:26 PM
http://img101.echo.cx/img101/804/box2dp.jpg

sorry for the "decent" sized pic...oh and the port needs one inch cut off it, but ill do that when i cut the wood for it.

sorry if this is some what off topic! but i really need to know. what software did you use to make this 3d model.

btw. nice looking enclosure!, how is it coming along?

saywhat?
06-17-2005, 08:32 PM
used sketch up...........didnt get to work on it today

Moe Lester
06-17-2005, 08:41 PM
screws wont do very much for strength. I had an extra box in my garage the other day and i removed ALL of the screws. I threw it in the air 4 times and had it land on concrete before the wood broke lol. Where the joints were the MDF tore apart and where the glue was nothing really happened.

bcarpenterfhl
06-17-2005, 08:48 PM
screws wont do very much for strength.

tried telling him that like 40 times, but oh well. with screws your actually prone to make the box weaker if you crack the wood.

saywhat?
06-17-2005, 08:51 PM
im not doubting that ou guys are right. but from this stag on i will put screws every 8 inches just to "clamp it to the wood" i trust the glue as i sorta played with what had already dried. not to mention im resining all corners :):):):):):) so theres more strength as it is

InhumanAcura
06-17-2005, 08:53 PM
im not doubting that ou guys are right. but from this stag on i will put screws every 8 inches just to "clamp it to the wood" i trust the glue as i sorta played with what had already dried. not to mention im resining all corners :):):):):):) so theres more strength as it is

resin does not add stregnth...it'll seal things up well, thats it....

bcarpenterfhl
06-17-2005, 08:54 PM
if you resin up some rope, that will do. but i still like using dowels and scrap MDF better.

saywhat?
06-17-2005, 08:55 PM
the resin wont hold the wood that much more secure? and if its not sealed already, wouldnt resin seap through ;) im plannin on sealing it up, placing a piece of PVC in the corner and pouring the resin in between the tube and box corner. ayways, can resin dry TOO fast, to the point where it wont be worth it. remember im poring into a hole, not matting anything

saywhat?
06-17-2005, 08:56 PM
if you resin up some rope, that will do. but i still like using dowels and scrap MDF better.


wasnt really doing it for strength intentionally, but rather to round out the corners............reducing the angles in the box. helping airflow

bcarpenterfhl
06-17-2005, 08:59 PM
when you talk about pouring resin between the pvc and box corner, you plan on removing the pvc, right? i like your idea. i've considered it a few times but didnt care enough.

saywhat?
06-17-2005, 09:00 PM
yes remove it after

BeanII
06-18-2005, 12:31 AM
you're making an interior rounded corner right? Great idea. Use bondo. So much easier than trying to the glass to set up and hold

bcarpenterfhl
06-18-2005, 12:34 AM
you're making an interior rounded corner right? Great idea. Use bondo. So much easier than trying to the glass to set up and hold

i would only use bondo with a crap load of acetone, otherwise it wouldnt pour very well. but dont mind that, resin will work just fine.

BeanII
06-18-2005, 12:43 AM
i would only use bondo with a crap load of acetone, otherwise it wouldnt pour very well. but dont mind that, resin will work just fine.



Why pour it? I would slop it int there berfore the top is put on (maybe to late). Stuff it into the corners. Then shape it with the pvc or even scrape it out with a soda can.....Does that make sense?

bcarpenterfhl
06-18-2005, 01:12 AM
Why pour it? I would slop it int there berfore the top is put on (maybe to late). Stuff it into the corners. Then shape it with the pvc or even scrape it out with a soda can.....Does that make sense?

it'd be easier and come out nice to pour. you might even try the 50-50 bondo/resin mixture.

PowerNaudio
06-18-2005, 09:19 AM
the only people i have seen build sub woofer enclosures without screws are the crappy prefab sub enclosures you buy for like 30~50 dollars.
if you pre-drill every hole with the right size bit. you wont split the wood.
you already glued it together, so predrill and add screws.
i usually glue the panel and immediately screw it together.
i wouldn't use Bond to seal the box interior, use something more like silicone, run your finger along the seam to fill in the edges.
bond is more for the out side of the box to clean up where the pieces of wood meet and make it look good.
as far as extra strength goes, fiberglass is pretty good for the edges, but proper bracing of the box is better.
use screws! and brace, if you want the strongest box possible for your sub.
that's just my opinion and experience.
later.

60ndown
06-18-2005, 09:34 AM
desighn is a bit 'square'...standing waves?

bcarpenterfhl
06-18-2005, 02:37 PM
desighn is a bit 'square'...standing waves?

really not a big issue to most people. thats how most people make they're boxes here.

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 02:41 PM
the design may be square yes.......thats a reason for the rounded out edge. im not using bondo....period....bondo+wood=teh suxor then you add VIBRATION in the equation and your doomed. so resin it is.

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 08:34 PM
pic1

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/7893/dscn02971zu.jpg

pic2

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/3754/dscn02982js.jpg

pic3

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/7340/dscn02991fw.jpg

pic4

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/6820/dscn03001cz.jpg

pic5

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/223/dscn03015xt.jpg

pic6

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/993/dscn03023xq.jpg

pic7

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/4779/dscn03038pd.jpg

teh car it goes in

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/7492/fscn01260ti.jpg

emo pic of teh sexae mang who built thy box

http://img214.echo.cx/img214/4345/fscn02369ho.jpg

azbass
06-18-2005, 08:40 PM
only one pic worka :(

azbass
06-18-2005, 08:40 PM
make that 2

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 08:43 PM
hmmmmm

ill work on it

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 08:43 PM
they all worked when i refreshed the page??

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 08:47 PM
maybe that did it, they work for me.

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 09:45 PM
to make matters worse.....the box fits inside the trunk...........but wont stand up once i get it layed down. no it wont go in standing up like i want, i have to put it in, THEN turn it.

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 10:34 PM
never thought a thread with so many pics wouldnt be talked in.

PowerNaudio
06-18-2005, 10:53 PM
i can see all the pics from my email count!
i have intalled an enclosure in a mustang 2002 before. did you keep the mack system in or removed it, i keeped it but had to remove it, to install the box then re install the mack sys thats in the trunk area.

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 10:53 PM
woohooo......PICS WORK!

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 10:54 PM
i can see all the pics from my email count!
i have intalled an enclosure in a mustang 2002 before. did you keep the mack system in or removed it, i keeped it but had to remove it, to install the box then re install the mack sys thats in the trunk area.



mine is a 2005, totally different ball game, this box would fit in a earlier model car...not this one of course

bcarpenterfhl
06-18-2005, 10:59 PM
nice job, but wheres the external port?

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 10:59 PM
not on there yet, the whole reason ts external is so i can attach it IN the car.

bcarpenterfhl
06-18-2005, 11:03 PM
oh, how will you seal it?

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 11:06 PM
seal what? the box? i gotta figure that oneout LOLOL cuz i have to shorten it 3/4 of inch in height so i need to figure the port length for 35 hz now with that, 16.75x36.5x11.5 port is 4x10 but hell if i know how to figure an external point. but ANYWAS, i wasgunna do the resin but i may not be able to, so prolly silicone. im sanding the inside tomorrow, and i may do the resin still.



PS-it doesnt QUITE fit so i gotta figure that out as well.

bcarpenterfhl
06-18-2005, 11:10 PM
so this box wont be covered, in the new beautiful car?

saywhat?
06-18-2005, 11:15 PM
formica ;) will cut it and put it on when the box is inside ...........double sided industrial tape

Buckshot
06-19-2005, 01:34 PM
formica ;) will cut it and put it on when the box is inside ...........double sided industrial tape

= Horrible Idea. To securely attach formica to a box and be sure it isn't going to rattle from the gap btw the tape and formica requires contact cement, and a roller. ;)