PDA

View Full Version : building new box.. no table saw...



IshbOO
06-04-2005, 05:04 AM
I have no table saw, what are some other options of getting my peices cut out? My last box I used a circular saw and I didn't like the way it turned out. Would Home Depot or Lowes cut my pieces for me by chance?

bri487
06-04-2005, 05:08 AM
I have no table saw, what are some other options of getting my peices cut out? My last box I used a circular saw and I didn't like the way it turned out. Would Home Depot or Lowes cut my pieces for me by chance?

what was wrong with it? if you have a good solid setup to cut on and a good straight line, preferably a chalk line, and some practice with a circular saw, then if you should be able to make a good cut. my new circular saw has a laser on it. makes following straight lines so much easier.

Deamonicus
06-04-2005, 07:19 AM
X2 on the circular saw. They are cheap and easy to use. In my experience Home Depot is not very accurate at cutting wood. They are at least 1/4-1/2" off all the time. :eyebrow:

SPL140.2
06-04-2005, 12:54 PM
Sears has guides for rip cut and attaches to circular saws i think their around 30 bucks.

Rattlebrain
06-04-2005, 12:57 PM
I have a guide. Its nothing more than just a flat piece of aluminum (sp) that you clamp onto your wood and run the saw against the edge. Works great.

req
06-04-2005, 01:46 PM
yea. just go buy a piece of aluminum in an L shape, and some nice clamps

clamp the aluminum to the left\right (depending on what side of the line you need to cut, line is drawn with a Tsquare) of your line so that the blade lines up with your cutting line.

http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuilding/media/h00051_11.jpg

heres a FULL walkthrough

http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuilding/pages/h00051.asp

IshbOO
06-04-2005, 05:36 PM
**** thanks for the input anyone else want to put some input in just post here thanks alot

Rattlebrain
06-04-2005, 05:49 PM
Well crap! try to help ya out and get additude. I was being serious. That is what I use. I dont have a table saw either.

Rattlebrain
06-04-2005, 05:54 PM
This is what I used just a minute ago
http://myweb.cableone.net/skaboop/pictures/table.jpg

negativezeroz
06-04-2005, 06:08 PM
**** u all and ur saws lol...I had to use a battery powered saw :bawling: there are two buttons..u hav to hold this lil *** one then pull themain one then the saw will work but if u slip on the lil button it shuts off...so gets rather annoying...
good thing Im gonna cover it cuz it aint pretty ;)