PDA

View Full Version : 1-bit vs 24-bit DA converters



falcom
05-25-2005, 06:59 PM
Ok, so what exactly is the difference between the two? Both convert a digital signal to analog for apmlification, i'm sure one is better, but what makes it better and why? anyone know?

title&registrat
05-25-2005, 07:22 PM
1 bit = 16 bit. cd quality = 16 bit. both are good, but i think 24 bit may be generally regarded as better..now if someone else can actually answer his question?

audiolife
05-25-2005, 07:27 PM
on the processing side so far 24 bit is better due to HOW the processes work. has little to do with the sq other than what you can effectively do to it in processing... some will argue both ways this is my story and im sticking to it lol

6three6mafia6
05-25-2005, 07:39 PM
ONLY thing i can tell is out of all the upgrades ive done in my car the MOST effective one was changing my panasonic HU to my clarion HU with 24 bit DA converters, the sound was improved SO much , thats all i can say.

JAZN
05-25-2005, 07:59 PM
ONLY thing i can tell is out of all the upgrades ive done in my car the MOST effective one was changing my panasonic HU to my clarion HU with 24 bit DA converters, the sound was improved SO much , thats all i can say.
those are 2 different HUs from 2 different companies, so im guessing its more than just the DAC that made the difference.

jujumantb
05-25-2005, 08:03 PM
those are 2 different HUs from 2 different companies, so im guessing its more than just the DAC that made the difference.
Was gonna post the same thing. You can go from 16bit to 16bit and have a huge change in sound.

audiolife
05-26-2005, 02:24 AM
even the same kind of deck.....................

adam71
05-26-2005, 04:37 PM
I would say one of the biggest differences from one deck to another would have to be if you switched from one unit that had 2V pre outs to one that had 6V or better pre outs.

squeak9798
05-26-2005, 04:47 PM
Why? The difference could be (typically is) inaudible.

adam71
05-26-2005, 04:50 PM
I totally disagree. Are you saying that it would be a bigger difference to go to a deck with a higher-bit D/A converter???

squeak9798
05-26-2005, 04:58 PM
I totally disagree. Are you saying that it would be a bigger difference to go to a deck with a higher-bit D/A converter???


Never said that. "Which is better" is going to depend on how the entire unit is designed. Poorly designed 1bit < good 24-bit, and poorly designed 24-bit < good 1-bit design.

What I did say, is that the difference between 2V & 6V is typically nothing audible. And, just as an FYI; I just switched from ~2V to 8V. So yeah, I have experienced the "difference" (or, better yet, lack thereof).

audiolife
05-26-2005, 05:05 PM
all its for is to lowwer the noise floor if you had noise lol scarething is you went from none to some......in car audio it happens all the time lol

adam71
05-26-2005, 05:16 PM
I see what you're saying now but what I meant was that you'd probably notice more of a difference between pre outs then you would a d/a converter. Especially if you had noise to begin with. :)

squeak9798
05-26-2005, 05:16 PM
all its for is to lowwer the noise floor if you had noise lol scarething is you went from none to some......in car audio it happens all the time lol


:crap: I know...how fvcked up is that! Took something out of the signal chain (typically a good thing), and it resulted in alt whine (which is a bad thing..LOL) :crazy:

audiolife
05-26-2005, 05:21 PM
I see what you're saying now but what I meant was that you'd probably notice more of a difference between pre outs then you would a d/a converter. Especially if you had noise to begin with. :)
exact opisite happened to squeak lol voltage really only helps lower your amp gains if you have a noisey amp......typically

adam71
05-26-2005, 10:53 PM
Yes, but if you have other processors in the signal chain it also helps so that they cannont add noise into the equation.

Anyway, I'm too tired to debate this anymore today, I'm busy with "ghettobit(h" in another thread.

;)

audiolife
05-27-2005, 12:53 AM
oh yes it can lol i even ran a small soundstream amp as a line driver before to get the hiss out of my horns and still had noise untill i rewired my eqts (didnt have noise before) the amp/linedrive allowed me to drop the master gain of my system way down.

adam71
05-27-2005, 12:27 PM
oh yes it can lol i even ran a small soundstream amp as a line driver before to get the hiss out of my horns and still had noise untill i rewired my eqts (didnt have noise before) the amp/linedrive allowed me to drop the master gain of my system way down.


I guess I was lucky enough not to have that problem. :D

Prowler573
05-27-2005, 12:38 PM
The last time I did a head unit swap I went from one that had 1.8v preouts and quad 1-bit D/A converters to one with 5v preouts and Burr-Brown 24-bit D/A converters. (same head unit brand)

I could not definitively tell you which of the two factors (preout voltage or D/A converter resolution) made more difference but after the HU swap and getting my amp gains reset appropriately, at least in my application it made an audible difference. All at once the entire layout had more presence and the bass became appreciably more precise.

Can't say that this would hold true for everyone's situation but it did for me.

audiolife
05-27-2005, 12:48 PM
I guess I was lucky enough not to have that problem. :D
yuh but voltage wasnt the issue it was more down the lines of input and output impedences than voltage...alot more infact

adam71
05-27-2005, 12:58 PM
yuh but voltage wasnt the issue it was more down the lines of input and output impedences than voltage...alot more infact


Don't get me wrong man I agree with you now. All I was really trying to say is hi-volt outputs have to be of some good and I just wasn't sure which. :) :D

audiolife
05-27-2005, 01:00 PM
they are i mean crap stronger signal helps anytime but it by all means isnt a fix all im trying to say.

adam71
05-27-2005, 01:06 PM
they are i mean crap stronger signal helps anytime but it by all means isnt a fix all im trying to say.

agreed, on a related topic. What about ground loop isolation?? I see that Audio Control has a selectable setting for this on alot of their components. When I had my old EQX I had to change the switch to get rid of most of the noise it introduced into my system.

audiolife
05-27-2005, 01:23 PM
i dont take that stuff apart but i bet its more of an impedence thing than an actual ground. i went digital and i dont plan on going back lol

adam71
05-27-2005, 02:04 PM
My point being that if All head units and processors had this type of selector then noise could me a thing of the past.

I hear you on the digital part though. Unfortunately my older car still has analog everything from an analog DEQ-230, MTX LSX-2. But I can't complain about them since I have NO noise in that car. :D

3.5Max6spd
05-31-2005, 12:53 PM
I'd encourage anyone to visit your nearest home theater specialists or electronics chain store and sit in a HT demo room and get a taste on your own on the difference receivers with greater processing/signal transfer prowress can make on the same set of speakers.

adam71
05-31-2005, 03:21 PM
I totally agree and I already have. In February I upgraded from an older Pioneer (Dolby Digital only-No DTS) receiver and an entry level universal player made by Pioneer (non-Elite) to a Denon AVR-3805 and a Denon DVD-3910 universal player and the differences were night and day with the same speakers. :D