PDA

View Full Version : iPOD ready?



Beat_Dominator
05-23-2005, 05:35 PM
My friend needs a HU for his Altima and he wants to keep the price around $250. He's not a SQ nut or anything. The only catch is he want's iPod integrated into the deck.

I don't own an iPod so I have no idea what he's going to need. Is there anything in that range??

Thanks homies. :D

Echo42987
05-23-2005, 05:36 PM
uh no...lol

Loudrango112
05-23-2005, 05:37 PM
Most decks use the AUX port... and you get an Adaptor that will fit it to connect up the Ipod

Beat_Dominator
05-23-2005, 05:45 PM
As an example, look at this.. THIS (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/product/detail/0,,2076_2007714_192089315,00.html)

Used with this HERE (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/product/detail/0,,2076_4039_149245002,00.html)

Allows iPod control....and that deck is like $120...?

JAZN
05-23-2005, 05:46 PM
if u want it integrated into the deck (controlled from the deck and not the ipod), the adapter alone is about $100.

Beat_Dominator
05-23-2005, 05:46 PM
I didn't mean $250 total, he wants to be able to upgrade in the future.

JAZN
05-23-2005, 05:47 PM
that setup u picked looks like itd work

Beat_Dominator
05-23-2005, 05:47 PM
Yeah but that's sub par, I wanna make him get a little more deck than that. :p:

JAZN
05-23-2005, 05:48 PM
keep in mind the controls from the deck are really slow and only display 1 line of text and only 8 characters on that line.

Beat_Dominator
05-23-2005, 05:54 PM
keep in mind the controls from the deck are really slow and only display 1 line of text and only 8 characters on that line.

What dictates that? The adapter, the HU, or the iPod?

Aka, is the Alpine better at speed/display/etc.?

JAZN
05-23-2005, 06:19 PM
its the way its programmed (adapter would be my guess). not sure about alpine vs. pioneer, but i know both ****.

Beat_Dominator
05-23-2005, 06:20 PM
heh ok. I'll pass that on. Thanks for the input.

JAZN
05-23-2005, 06:21 PM
np bob.

Alpine2005
05-23-2005, 08:06 PM
their is a cheaper way to connect an ipod to a pionner deck

all pioneer decks have aux input but he'll need to get adapters CHICK HERE (http://www.crutchfield.com/S-lONDA4O3OZP/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?g=50900&I=130CDRB10) - CHICK HERE (http://www.crutchfield.com/S-lONDA4O3OZP/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?g=227650&I=043183190)

THX
05-23-2005, 08:11 PM
Alpine's have a 16-character text limit. Check my sig link for good info regarding iPod adapters and which one is the best.

billy18bm
05-24-2005, 09:19 PM
get the sony Sony CDX-F7715X it dosent have control from DECK but just get an audio input it works great really