Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Amp mounting & bunch of other questions, pics too

kramonut is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Amp mounting & bunch of other questions, pics too

Hi there,

I'm working on getting an amp hooked up in my Jeep Wrangler. Since it's a Jeep (& I do go offroad often) I need things hidden & safe from water. I'm also new to the car audio so I have a ton of questions if ya don't mind helping a noob.

First, mounting my amp. I want to put it in my center console & from the pic you can see that it will fit, but I read somewhere that you shouldn't mount it to plastic.

Does this look like it could be a dangerous (as in melt the console) situation? The amp is brand new, Clarion APA450. I will drill a hole & insert a bolt/nut from the outside to hold it to the inside of the console. As you can see there is an opening from the old stock subwoofer set-up that the Jeep came with. Should I put a thin rubber mat type of thing between the amp & the console?

Also, in the pic below you see that the RCA's can't go in straight, where can I find right angle RCA's?

This being a 4 channel amp there is RCA inputs for the front & rear. My headunit (Pioneer P4600MP) only has 2 RCA outs. I plan to add a sub later, so if I just plug into the Front on the amp, is that ok? (sorry such a dumb question, but I don't want to be in the middle of installing all of it & realize I screwed up big time). It's only a Wrangler so there's really no rear speakers.

This amp will power front 5.25's (still looking for a set) & 6.5 Infinity Reference coaxials in the soundbar. What test tone would be good for setting the gain on these speakers? They'll obviously be handling the mids/highs.

FINALLY! One last ridicious question! The amp has (2) 25 amp fuses, when figuring out what size wire to take to it, do I just take one of the fuses? or consider it 50 amps?

Thanks for any help you can give!

SSS 18734 is offline Dollar Menu Millionaire