Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Mono amplifier selection- Need some good advice

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Mono amplifier selection- Need some good advice

Alright Ill keep it simple

I have a 1977 vw bus I have been tuning and modifying for 3 years. Its finally painted and system is going in. Need help selecting an amp(s)

55 amp alternator, may be a 70 amp, (encased in cooling housing, very tricky to get to, exactly like a 70's porsche 911 or 914 engine)

I have a decent blaupunkt austin reciever 50wx4 (i dont want an expensive one to get jacked* remember its a old vw, easy to break into)

running head unit to a set of audiobahn 5.25 component (the best ones they make 1 piece spun aluminum mini woofers and tweeters.)

now in the rear, I have a extremely rigid sealed fiberglass enclosure that comes molding out of the rear seat (sub is inverted outwards towards the rear at 45 degrees

sub is an audiobahn 1200q* once again decent 700 rms and 1400 max 2ohm stable

The box is spec to cubic in and ready to rock

I should be getting the stinger sp1000 battery in a few days
    will i need an aux battery too, or will this beast work fine as a primary batt

Do i need a cap, ive heard not, I dont want to fry my alternator yet, i need to drop the engne to get to it *sigh* but when that time comes itll be rewound

Ive researched alot, Id prefer not to draw 40 amps, more around 30amps max. I want to run as loud as i can safetly. Budget under 240$ Ill spend more for a Good amp, but need to get my porsche rotors next so my pockets are jingling
    the amp will be on a shelf under the rear seat behind thick plexi with cooling fans, no access to it, so a good amp aint a problem
    PPI? JL?Alpine?Kicker, Im looking for model specific not just the brands thanks
    Iheard JLaudio or JBL was best buck for a sealed box

look on ebay? heh
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW
    hope one of you guys can help