+ Reply to Thread

Reload Thread: Just acquired a bunch of old PPI amps and need info

okura_hubby is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Just acquired a bunch of old PPI amps and need info

back in 1988 I was a stereo installer. I been out of car audio for 24 years.. I joined the military and put what I had in storage.. Now cant find my old stuff so I started buying stuff to replace..
    I just got a 2300, 2150, 2) 2075's and 2) 2050's.. If I can ever find the lost 223, 2150 and 2050 good.
    Anyway.. all the amps have their wired plugs..
    my question is the 2300, at first you think its a dual 2150 but its not, its a dual 2075.. 2 x 300 wats @ 4 ohm. I Know they have power ratings for the smaller ones in stereo at 2 ohm.. Can the 2300 handle 2 ohm? Well let me just ask can any of the original black M series PPI handle 2 ohm in bridged mono mode?
    Originally I was going to run the 2300 and 2) 2150's to drive 4 15" but now thinking to use the 2300 and 2 2075's to do it. and use the 2150 to drive 4 10" and break the freq for the 10" at 400-100 and the 15" at 150-30.. That should be roughly 300W RMS to each 15" and 150W RMS to each 10". Going to run everything sealed.. Not after LOUD SPL just clean tight bass.

audiobaun is offline Premium Member audiobaun is a Supporting Member of the forum!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)

Re: Just acquired a bunch of old PPI amps and need info

The 2300 will handle 2 ohms load ,but you have to keep her cool/elevated with some air movement.Specs call for 4 ohm if I recall, but so did most of the Hifonics VII,and Autotek MeanMachines,BTS series, as they are 2ohm stable with a nice fan on them,and good supply fed.