Closed Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Reload Thread: (NOOBIE) if i was to use a PDX-F6 amp, would i have to buy 2ohm or 4ohm alpine type r

  1. #1
    mikeyyyallday's Avatar
    mikeyyyallday is offline Junior Member



    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    honolulu, hi
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    (NOOBIE) if i was to use a PDX-F6 amp, would i have to buy 2ohm or 4ohm alpine type r

    dont know anything about subs...







  2. #2
    Falcons's Avatar
    Falcons is offline that **** i dont like



    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Albion, New York, United States
    Posts
    5,216
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)

    Re: (NOOBIE) if i was to use a PDX-F6 amp, would i have to buy 2ohm or 4ohm alpine ty

    yes



    Things to look forward to:
    (2) 10" or 12" imperium audio designs subs
    set of PHD MF 6.5" comps
    Completely seal off and deaden my doors
    aquire a 2k amp
    aquire a 2 channel amp for front stage

  3. #3
    Sonic.'s Avatar
    Sonic. is offline Senior VIP Member



    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    455
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: (NOOBIE) if i was to use a PDX-F6 amp, would i have to buy 2ohm or 4ohm alpine ty

    I take it that you will bridge the channels and use the 2 bridge channels to connect to each voice coil on the type r right?

    If so, then you need the dual 4 ohm sub.




  4. #4
    zako's Avatar
    zako is offline CarAudio.com Elite



    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)

    Re: (NOOBIE) if i was to use a PDX-F6 amp, would i have to buy 2ohm or 4ohm alpine ty

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonic. View Post
    I take it that you will bridge the channels and use the 2 bridge channels to connect to each voice coil on the type r right?
    That's a bad way to power a sub IMO. I hope the op wants yo bridge two channels for a single sub, not a voice coil. To power a single sub, a mono block PDX amp would have been much better..




  5. #5
    UnderFire's Avatar
    UnderFire is offline CarAudio.com Veteran



    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dayton, OR, 97114
    Posts
    2,040
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    38 Post(s)

    Re: (NOOBIE) if i was to use a PDX-F6 amp, would i have to buy 2ohm or 4ohm alpine ty

    You would bridge 2 of the channels and run a Dual 2 Ohm Sub on the bridged channel.

    If you do not have the amp yet, do not get it, a Mono is best, and a 2 channel is much better than a 4 channel if it comes down to it.



    97 4runner, 3RZ, 5 Speed

    Headunit: Alpine CDA-9887
    Mids: CDT HD-6CF
    Tweets: CDT DRT-25
    Fronts Amp: Hertz HDP4
    Sub Amp: American Bass VFL150.1
    Substage: 18" SSA ZCON
    Electrical: 160 Amp Alt, Duralast Gold, C&D270FR, 2/0 Throughout

  6. #6
    murph's Avatar
    murph is offline Low for Life



    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Richmond,VA
    Posts
    3,904
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    89 Post(s)

    Re: (NOOBIE) if i was to use a PDX-F6 amp, would i have to buy 2ohm or 4ohm alpine ty

    Ok lets straighten out what has been said. Yes a mono would be more efficient and cheaper but, in NO WAY would I say it is BETTER. A 2 channel would make more sense though... Class a/b amps imo are best ran with subs when using very low power due to the increased sound quality when used. Yes, there is a difference and on other types of music unlike in hip hop it is very noticeable.



    Hu: kenwood kdc-x995
    Sub: Boston acoustics G5 12 in a quasi 6th order
    Amp: Eclipse Xa5000
    Front Speakers: Eclipse sc6500
    HIT UP FOR BASS ---> http://www.youtube.com/user/BassWithMurph?feature=mhee

Closed Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Safe to use bass boost on amp at the moment?
    By plantinseeds in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 04-13-2012, 11:21 PM
  2. Best test tone to use when tuning subwoofer amp?
    By IonRL205 in forum Amplifiers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-12-2008, 12:03 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 10:59 PM
  4. Is it ok to use a class D amp to push mids/hi's?
    By Bipolar in forum Amplifiers
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 11:24 AM
  5. What amp would be better to use?
    By Hades2004 in forum Amplifiers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2005, 02:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts

1e2 Forum