Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    4 Post(s)

Amp needed for upgrade

Hi all,

New to the site so I am looking for some reccomendations here. I am fairly new to the audio scene and have only built a small budget system and would now like to add on. I currently have an 02 PT cruiser witht the following. I don't need a blow your roof off system or one that an be heard a mile away. I just want a nice loud, clean sounding system. The current one below has enough bass for me but now need to jack the 4 main speakers up a bit more so am looking for reccomendations for a single amp to run these. Something around $100 or so would be great. I don't want to install more batteries or a larger alternator to run another amp. I currently have a stock mitsubishi alternator that says 120 amps on it and a standard battery.
    Currently have,
    1) Sony headunit Not sure of power ( was about a $80.00 unit)
    2) one 12" subwoofer fed with a JVC KS-AX4302 amp ( 200rms bridged 600 watt max) amp
    3) two upgraded 5-1/2" Pioneer door speakers 50W rms max
    4) two upgraded Polk audio rear speakers 4"x6" 60W rms max

Thanks for the help!

sjv13 is offline StayStrange

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    324 Post(s)

Re: Amp needed for upgrade

Quote Originally Posted by jcraft View Post
    Hi all,

1) Sony headunit Not sure of power ( was about a $80.00 unit)
    - I have the feeling that this head unit, because of the price point, does not have 3 sets of RCA pre-outs, which would be helpful for hooking up more than one amp. Also, at $80 I have the feeling that amping the signal it puts out isn't going to sound that good at loud volumes. You might want to invest in a nicer head unit, which should also come with a nicer EQ so you can turn down the highest frequencies a bit if they get too harsh at the louder volumes you achieve with the new 4 channel amp.