Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Reload Thread: Best matched amp for JL 12W7

Tormented is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Best matched amp for JL 12W7

Although im new to the site this is not my first build. But it is my first time around with JL, with that said. I am looking for people who actually know their ***** when it comes to matching subs to amps properly. So i am looking for the best matched amp to run the W7. I am not too worried about price and i understand whats required to run something of that power. Im asking 1 question so please do not give me 30 answers on what head unit i need, not the question i asked. And the only reason i say that is because i know how people on forums get. Thanks in advance and sorry to ramble

$LICK CALIFA$ is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Re: Best matched amp for JL 12W7

the obvious answer would probably be one of jl's slash amps (500/1v1, 500/1v2, 1000/1v1, 1000/1v2) or hd amps (750/1, 900/5, or even the upcoming 1200/1) because of the odd single 3-ohm vc of the 12w7. But if you don't want to pay for the jl audio name, although you say cost isn't an issue, I would suggest any amp that falls into the category with power in the WIDE range of 400 watts rms min. @ 4-ohm to a max of ~2000 watts rms @ 2-ohm. If my math is right, at 3-ohms any amp within that power range should be giving the 12w7 anywhere from 500 to say 1500 watts rms, which is the power handling for the 12w7. Hope my rambling wasn't too confusing...

Chriszle is offline CarAudio.com Elite

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)

Last time I checked those subs have D1.5 coils.... In anycase I have a OS RF Punch 800a2 that is rated at 800RMS@4 ohms bridged and it is quite underrated. I would sell for 200 plus shipping. PM me your number for pics.

elancohen92 is offline F**k yeah I drive a Soul! elancohen92 is a Supporting Member of the forum!

Post Thanks / Like