Closed Thread

Reload Thread: Amp to power my new subwoofers

toledokid is offline Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Amp to power my new subwoofers

I just bought 2 Diamond Audio 12 inch D6 Dual 2 ohm woofers. (These are what I bought: http://www.diamondaudio.com/content/view/129/143/)

But my problem is, I hastily bought the woofers because my friends were convinced my Kenwood KAC-8101D (Specs of it are here: http://www.lightav.com/car/kenwood/amps/amps.html) would be able to power them.

So I got two quick questions, (Sorry I'm a noob to all of this), should this amp be able to power at least one of these woofers? Cause my cousin hooked up the woofer and it keeps sending the amp into protect mode if I turn it up and keep it up for a couple minutes, and obviously if it's sending into protect mode this isn't good for my new woofer.

My second question is what are some amps that will be able to power both these subs in the price range of $350 to $500?

Thanks!

bubbagumper6 is offline CarAudio.com Veteran

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)

Re: Amp to power my new subwoofers

If those diamonds will handle what they're rated that amp might be ok for one of them...it's nowhere near enough power for 2 of them though. Did you get the dual 2 ohm or dual 4 ohm?

Morts is offline Junior Member

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Check wiring of the subs again.

http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/ca/...2-ohm_mono.jpg

I didnt realize it was a mono amp before
    Last edited by Morts; 07-08-2009 at 09:28 PM.

Mr.Ronin_2U is offline Banned

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Hey man,sorry to say but those Kenwood amps ****,I had one and it also went into protect.If your trying to,buy another amp I have a Sundown SAE-1200D,that I'll sell ya.It would be perfect for your subs.

tinmanchris217 is offline 9mm xmax = 25mm xmech

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)